Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-20-2008, 12:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sooju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 257
RO reconditioner?

How many of you "recondition" your RO water before using it? Like with a product like Kent Osmo-Prep Marine?
OSMO Prep Marine 250gm

And which would you recommend more highly, SpectraPure or Kent Marine RO units?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
sooju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2008, 01:42 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I would get the RO/DI, something like this:
5 stage 75 GDP Reverse Osmosis System Aquarium RO/DI - eBay (item 250295355638 end time Sep-21-08 23:39:19 PDT)
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2008, 02:04 PM   #3
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree. Go with the RO/DI.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2008, 02:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
sooju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 257
I am getting an RO/DI unit, I'm just wondering if I have to "recondition" the RO water before using it. Does anyone here do that?

EDIT: I don't mean recondition, I mean "reconstitute." Sorry for the confusion.
__________________
sooju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2008, 04:12 PM   #5
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
No in saltwater, only if you use it for freshwater
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2008, 04:14 PM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainAhab View Post
No in saltwater, only if you use it for freshwater
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2008, 08:15 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree as well. The RO takes out the stuff needed in FW (not sure, trace elements?), not what we need in SW.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
condition

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.