Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-28-2014, 12:48 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 82
RO Unit

Hello folks,
I am looking into a RO unit from Aquatic Life (RO Buddie). The problem is the instructions say the optimal water temp should be around 77. I live in Michigan and there is no way that I can get that kinda temp in my cold water line.

So the question is what will be the units efficiency if I use it? Will it work or I will be just wasting gallons after gallons without getting anything.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
ssky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 02:24 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Adamski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: London
Posts: 321
It's cold in England and my production is about 60% of what it should be, sometimes less. I've tried a few things to increase the temperature and the only thing that worked for me was to connect the water in pipe to an outside tap and feed the line thru the kitchen unit and then keep the actual unit in the house. I also feed the waste in to barrels and use it for cleaning the car and doing housework with!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Adamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 04:50 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
I'm in North dakota so I'm with ya man. I run mine off my washers cold water line using a 3 way fitting used for sprinkler systems. The hose adapter that comes with it fits perfectly and only cost me 5 bucks. Just make sure to use Teflon tape and don't over tighten it. My water comes out at about 50 degrees and I get 30-35 gallons a day. I offset this by using 20 gallon container for the water to go in. I couldn't justify buying a bigger unit then 50 gpd because I don't really feel like It matters. Just be prepared for the worst. I typically keep 40 gallons of ro/Di water on standby


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 01:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 82
Looks like you guys are seconding my suspicion. I will loose much more than advertised. Still better than going to lfs 10 mile round trip, paying 39 cents a gallon and lugging 5 gallon buckets.

Sent from my ME302C using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ssky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 01:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 82
My setup is in basement so can't use washer or outside tap. I do have a sink so will use that.

Sent from my ME302C using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ssky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 04:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
I will make one suggestion for the ro buddie. Do not buy their Di cartridge. It 3x smaller then any Di cartridge I've ever seen. Just order the 3 stage ro buddie and get a Di only unit from bulk reef supply.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 10:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 82
Will the di from brs fit on ro buddy?

Sent from my ME302C using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
ssky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 11:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
They both take standard .25 inch tubing. You just can't mount it onto the ro buddy. They are the same price and you get 3x the resin with the brs one.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 01:23 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 82
Great, thanks man.

Sent from my ME302C using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
ssky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro unit, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rodi unit. Di unit qestion Fish-guy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 06-17-2012 04:12 PM
Need help with RO unit Hara Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 06-22-2003 06:11 PM
How do we empty our RO unit to move? swishyfishies Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-07-2003 09:26 PM
Need help picking an RO unit swishyfishies Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 05-11-2003 10:49 AM
My new RO unit swishyfishies Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 05-07-2003 11:09 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.