Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-13-2003, 05:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
RO unit as slow as Christmas

Ok. So a few months ago I bought my 75 GPD RO unit. Just got it hooked up, purged, and working. Takes 20 minutes to fill up one gallon. That does equate to 75 GPD but, man, is that slow or what?

How does everyone keep their water ready and on hand? Do you guys just fill up a 65 gallon trash can and use that water for top off, water changes, etc?

I will probably have to do something like this because if I create RO water on demand, it will take me hours to do routine work like top off's and such.
__________________

__________________
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 06:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Beacon, New York
Posts: 1,386
yup.
__________________

__________________
Bill The Cat For President!
stresco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 06:25 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
HEHE

Well a 75 GPD unit is just that 75 GPD. IT wil ltake approx 9 hours to fill a 30 gal trashcan. I have a 100GPD unit and this is what I do.

I make 1 trashcan full for top off and 1 trashcan ful for saltwater mixing. This process takes me 16 hours.

I then make up a trashcan full when I either the top off or the saltwater mix are down.

Others setup auto top off systems with electric float switches and electric celnoid's to control water to the filter.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 08:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 512
Can you just let the water sit in the cans??? do they need PH's? I figure the salt water one would, but what about the water for the top off?
__________________
two11devan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 08:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Oh. USA
Posts: 2,158
Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
yea mine makes a gallon in 30 min........ mine is a 50 GPD
ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 09:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 512
What about keeping the freshwater for top offs...i could use the same can for both salt and top off...when i do a change, i can put it in a 5 gal and mix it up the day before....so, is it ok for the RO water to sit??
__________________
two11devan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 11:10 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Ahhh. Ok guys thx for the advice. I know my title says "advisor" but that is for FW only!!! I am a true newb when it comes to SW.


I think I will do what Aaron does, but with a small twist. I think I will keep only one can of FW on hand. Then when I need to do my monthly water change, I can put some of the FW in a 5 gallon bucket and then mix the salt in that.

As far as what two11devan says, I think it is ok to let RO water sit. I would assume it can't go bad. I think it would be good to have a tight fitting lid on it to keep out any bugs, but other than that, I see no problem with leaving it sit in there. Not sure if one would need a PH or not. Wouldn't think so.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 11:22 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Monthly water change?

How big a sw tank are you setting up?
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 12:15 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Its a 40 gallon tank with a 10-15 gallon sump.

You think I should do more often WC than 1 a month? I have read people doing WC everywhere from once a week to once a month. Perhaps I should go with a happy medium of twice a month??
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 12:49 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
WEll to each his own. People will swear by weekly, bi-weekly or monthly or even no waterchanges.

Its kidn of what works best for you.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro unit, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
canister going slow Phoenixphire55 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 06-23-2008 09:52 AM
Slow Cycle? rubysoho Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 05-23-2008 11:43 AM
RO/DI slow flow bromion Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-17-2006 06:52 PM
Clowns in QT- slow going RTV Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-13-2006 03:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.