Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-31-2006, 05:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 58
RO Unit Question

I have a Pinnacle 3 stage 35GPD RO unit. What can I do to make it better? I guess I dont believe it is giving me optimal water quality. Should I add a DI canister to my setup? I live in Michigan and my water source is well water, the pressure is right at about 40 psi through the RO unit. Do I need to boost that? if so what type of pump would be recommended?

Thanks In Advance
__________________

__________________
jwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 07:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Why do you think your water is not up to par? Algae issues??
A DI housing can help remove the extra stuff the ro does not. A booster pump IMO is a great add on to any ro/di.
Check ebay for a booster pump I got mine there for a great price. Aquatec makes the pumps.
Airwaterice also sell great ro/di units and parts.
40 is at the low end for the unit 70 psi is where it should be for making the max GPD.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 07:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 177
you might also try H2O sicence on ebay I found that he as great prices. Boster pump for under 90.00. I would go with the biggest pump just incase you would want to upgrade your membrain to like a 75gpd.
__________________
SassyAngel111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 08:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
the problem with going with a bigger pump is it maybe too much for the lower membranes and it may hurt them. My guess this is why they make different pumps. I know you can turn down the pressure on the larger pump but I would wonder if this would hurt the pump long term. I got the 8800 for under 80 on ebay.. Shop around you will find a good deal outh there.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 06:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 58
Yeah its algae - Red Algae - small amount of Hair algae. My Phosphates are 0 in the tank and in the ro water. My nitrates are 20 and usually hold there. that is probably the issue. I do bi weekly water changes of 25 gallons. I think after reading many other posts I need to work on a cleanup crew. I havent had much luck with snails they dont seem to last much longer than 6 months. But maybe ill try again. I was also thinking about getting some sort of Macro algae for my sump. Maybe that would help with the nitrates. I have a turbo floater multi skimmer running it seems to do a pretty good job.
__________________
jwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 10:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Inverts will do nothing to help with cyno, I have tried many inverts and NONE ever did anything to help with cyno.. Ok, Just because your test kit says 0 on PO4 it dose not mean its not there. What is probably happening is the cyno is consuming the PO4 to levels where it is not detected by the kit. A phosban reactor would help with the cyno. I had cyno with 0 PO4 and only after adding a PB reactor and changing out old lights and adding new filters did it go away. Siphon it out each time you do a water change.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 02:46 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 185
I have a 4 stage 50gpd RO/DI unit. what does the GPD stand for exactly? I would like to get another 1/4 inch John Guest adaptor so I can hook one line up to the faucet and another line up to my python hose. Anyone know where I can get another one at?
Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 06:29 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 185
Also... Dechlorinator (Aqua Plus etc...) isnt needed when using R/O water correct?
Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 08:22 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
GPD = gallons per day
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 12:10 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 185
Yea I read that at the LFS, I figured thats what it was...

The AquaPlus dechlorinator isn't needed with RO water right?
__________________

Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro unit, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO Unit question Jaybird Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 09-17-2009 11:28 PM
Ro/DI Unit Question? Tank2379 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 01-21-2009 05:04 PM
New Here. Question about RO Unit ReeferZach General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 04-19-2007 03:10 PM
RO Unit question fishman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 21 01-08-2006 06:26 PM
RO/DI Unit question ericosuave Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 02-26-2004 07:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.