Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-17-2015, 09:57 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

RO Vs Distilled Vs Filtered Vs Tap

I am just starting out on a 10. I filled the tank using tap water. I am going to give it a try knowing I could switch to other options later if I need to. What would be an indicator that the tap water is not working out? Algae? Dead inverts? Dead fish? Bad water readings?

I know that RO makes pure water, but then minerals and other natural elements need to be added back in. I assume the salt mix takes care of that in the correct amounts?

But what about distilled and filtered water? Aren't they at least better than using tap water if I don't have an RO source? They take out the the things in tap water that are added for humans but not good for aquariums, but leave the stuff in that nature makes.

I don't plan on keeping super sensitive fish, but do I plan on having some crabs and shrimp. I plan on regular water changes at 10% per week and wonder if the regular maintenance is enough to counter the possible effects of using of tap water.

Also, is it a different story for fresh water tanks? I have been doing fresh water tanks with tap water for several years, but with setting up this salt tank I really want to understand more about water source options.

I know that most people advocate for RO water, but I would like someone to talk to me objectively about the other options and if they are really that horrible to use. Thank you so much!

Old 07-17-2015, 10:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Is it going to have corals? Even with inverts I would suggest getting an RO/DI system because they can be pretty sensitive

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Old 07-17-2015, 11:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic