Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-04-2008, 02:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 228
Ro water

Can you Re-use the RO Water that drains from it. Example the excess drains into bucket and have it pumped back trhough the RO UNIT?
__________________

__________________
cooltop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 03:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Chisel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jersey
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooltop View Post
Can you Re-use the RO Water that drains from it. Example the excess drains into bucket and have it pumped back trhough the RO UNIT?
I don't think it would hurt anything by running it through again. Why do you want to do this?
__________________

__________________
75g Reef.
Wet/dry converted into sump with a Bubble Magus NAC7 cone skimmer, MAG7 return, 200 micron filter socks, Vortech MP40w + two returns for flow. Current Sundial T5 + two retro Icecap T5's (6 bulbs),
Chisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 03:31 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I'm not sure how your RO/DI system is setup but mine is plumbed into the house water lines with a shut off valve. I certainly wouldn't want to try and pump the waste water back through the filter.

All my waste water drains into my floor drain in the basement and is flushed out into the back yard.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 03:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 228
well its not really waste water its just excess water that the the RO can not handle. It just seems to waste that water when all u have to do is just put a T fitting into RO untit that away you could use either source to bring in water to your RO.

Why I want do this is there is really no near Water Line near my RO Unit and filling a 55 gallon bucket and using it as a tank would be the easiest at the moment.
__________________
cooltop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 03:45 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Chisel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Jersey
Posts: 367
Or you could get an auto shut-off kit for RO units to eliminate waste such as this..

SpectraPure Auto Shut Off Valve Float Kit for RO Systems, Accessories/Fittings > RO/DI Systems > Aquarium
__________________
75g Reef.
Wet/dry converted into sump with a Bubble Magus NAC7 cone skimmer, MAG7 return, 200 micron filter socks, Vortech MP40w + two returns for flow. Current Sundial T5 + two retro Icecap T5's (6 bulbs),
Chisel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 03:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 228
That is not what i need. When your RO is making water there is excess water that goes through it which is what the drain line is for. So some people hook it up to there drains others send it somewhere else. So I am saying catch the water that the RO unit does not use and bring back through the RO unit. This water is still the same water that is coming from the Inlet side of the RO just not being used.
__________________
cooltop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 04:09 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooltop View Post
well its not really waste water its just excess water that the the RO can not handle. It just seems to waste that water when all u have to do is just put a T fitting into RO untit that away you could use either source to bring in water to your RO.

Why I want do this is there is really no near Water Line near my RO Unit and filling a 55 gallon bucket and using it as a tank would be the easiest at the moment.
Just to clarify it is waste water as it is has all the things in it that were filtered out via the RO membrane. A larger portion of it is excess water. Keep in mind that you will have to push the water back through the system at at least 40psi for it to go through the RO membrane like it should.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 04:10 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Won't work. What you're talking about doing is plumbing the drain line back into the feed line - and the feed line is pressurized. If you do what you say, you'll end up pressurizing both the inlet and outlet of the RO and you won't get any water at all.

If there was a way to do what you want (economically), you can be sure it would be offered already in a preassembled RO/DI unit. Not saying it's impossible to do what you're talking about, but it'd be very very expensive to get the correct booster pumps, check valves, etc.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 06:08 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Some folks use it to water their plants, wash their cars.....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 06:14 PM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I agree that you could not do it unless you spent alot of money to pressurize the waste line and then you would have to figure out how to get it back in. I suggest as others that you use it for another reason. No matter what you use it for you still saved money by using it. An example would be using it to fill your washing machine.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 05:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.