Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-27-2010, 09:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
Ro water

I am still tryin to use ro water but wit the kent Ro system i have it takes about 2 days to fill a 55 gallon barrel to do a water change is there anyway i can get ro water faster like a few hours or something???
__________________

__________________
tntfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 10:49 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Not really, not without a bigger system or possibly a booster pump. Why do you need more than 55 gallons every two days?
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 04:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
no no lol i dont need more than 55 galoons evry 2 days wut im saying is it takes about 2 days for the barrel to fill when i want to do a water change i have a 135 gallon tank
__________________
tntfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 04:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
tell me about the booster pump
__________________
tntfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 04:54 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
I know aquatec's are pretty common. I see two main models of the 6800 and the 8800.

You should get a basic pressure valve on your unit to see what PSI you are running at to gauge what size pump you will need. Also check your RO/DI manual to find the suggested pressure rating for optimum performance.

Aquatec 8800 Booster pump *KIT* - English
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 10:31 PM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
I always suggest 10% water changes weekly (more frequently if having problems). So you should only need about 20 gallons (depending on the size of your sump) to do a water change.

I still don't see the problem. If you are getting 55 gallons in two days what is the issue? You can have your water sitting all week waiting to do a water change, you don't have to make it when it is time to do a water change. I would fill it, get the salinity and temp right and then (depending on the size of your pump) either keep a pump running in the trash can or run an air stone to keep the water fresh and mixed. This way you have water ready to go for a water change any time it may be needed.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 10:36 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
You should be able to get 1 gallon every 1hr 1/2 or so at least mine does- as sugggested you may need a booster pump added to your system. You can find them at BRS...
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 01:07 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
i have a small apartment dont really have the space to have that barrel sitting around all day
__________________
tntfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 02:04 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
75-150gpd is the average for a home based RO/DI unit.

You have a small apartment with a 135g tank in it? Wow you are bold. Check your psi, if it is really low you probably aren't getting the full benefit of the RO. 45-55psi is best and will produce the most water.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 10:45 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
yessir tank is huge in my small living room its doing fine so far only problem is have is a evil scopus tang and this problem that i will solve
__________________

__________________
tntfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brightwell Aquatics Black Water Conditioner for Fresh Water Aquaria AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 09-14-2010 08:50 PM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.