Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-04-2015, 07:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
alyxandria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 697
RODI Help - TDS

Hey all! I got a new (to me) 4-stage RODI system. The lady said that the cartridges were recently replaced and should last me a year. I have a ZeroWater filter for our drinking water and it read 0ppm when I tested it to make sure the meter was working. My tap water is 146ppm. I ran the RODI in a bucket and it came to 49ppm but then I realized the bucket was one I used to mix saltwater in before and I didn't rinse it out entirely so I assume that was why. I'm going to buy a fresh bucket. I grabbed a clean glass and tested some water and it was 14ppm. I'm assuming 14ppm is what my RODI is producing and I'm not sure why.

Shouldn't this be 0ppm? Do I have it set up wrong? Should I replace a cartridge (and which one?)

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1420413851.118817.jpg
Views:	1080
Size:	20.7 KB
ID:	259964

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1420413866.583640.jpg
Views:	1155
Size:	22.0 KB
ID:	259965

The yellow tube is attached to the sink which runs through the front of the sediment filter, then from the back of the sediment it runs to the back of the carbon. From the front of the carbon it runs up to the RO and from there a red tube runs to waste and a blue tube runs into the back of the DI and out the front and into my bucket. This all sounds correct right?
__________________

__________________
alyxandria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 08:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
It sounds right. Did you replace the DI resin? How many gallons have you run through it since? You may have to run it a little to break the new filters in and let the loose carbon escape.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 01:38 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
alyxandria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 697
RODI Help - TDS

I haven't replaced anything. I've only run about 5 gallons so far. Not sure how many the previous owner ran through.

Do you think running it overnight with both returns in the sink would help it out?

I was told by someone to let it run for half an hour then test it and start bucketing the RODI water because it takes a while to get to the lowest TDS.
__________________
alyxandria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 07:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
In the beginning, right after a filter change you might see raised tds, but it shouldn't take too long. Overnight is longer than you need to waste water. I think the DI resin needs changing. Bulk Reef Supply is pretty cheap for that sort of thing in case you were wondering.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 11:24 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Adamski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: London
Posts: 321
I discard the first 10 minutes worth of water. I have a flush valve which helps


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Adamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 03:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Would Prime work?


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
old man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 11:45 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
alyxandria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by old man View Post
Would Prime work?


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

.. What for?
__________________
alyxandria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 02:21 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
alyxandria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 697
Should I go with....

http://www.aquacave.com/spectra-pure...b-ci-10hc.html

Or this?

http://www.aquacave.com/di-resin-mix...ging-1137.html

Only thing I'm not sure of is if the cartridge I have now is a refillable one or if I need to buy one.

I let it run for 15 minutes or so and it came back at 20ppm. I am going to try it again tomorrow after class. I'll let it run for 30 and test with my TDS meter.
__________________
alyxandria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 10:11 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You need a refillable DI cartridge. I like shopping at BRS-
BRS Bulk Deionization Resin - Color Changing - Bulk Reef Supply
See if it unscrews and you can dump the stuff out. Otherwise you'll need to purchase-
Clear Refillable Cartridge for DI Resin - Bulk Reef Supply
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 10:30 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
alyxandria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
You need a refillable DI cartridge. I like shopping at BRS-
BRS Bulk Deionization Resin - Color Changing - Bulk Reef Supply
See if it unscrews and you can dump the stuff out. Otherwise you'll need to purchase-
Clear Refillable Cartridge for DI Resin - Bulk Reef Supply

Awesome thank you!!
__________________

__________________
alyxandria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rodi

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RODI unit high TDS?? begginersluck Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 04-01-2013 06:22 PM
TDS Reading in Tank, but Not From RODI Unit cashmoney6980 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 05-22-2012 09:01 PM
Freshwater RODI TDS bry1105 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 11-11-2011 01:21 PM
TDS meter... TDS? stratmaster General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-25-2009 06:29 PM
TDS in....TDS out of RO well water for reef jackdp Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-26-2006 10:59 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.