Rookie - 30 Gal FOWLR - complete set up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

OneSlickNic

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello!

I have been keeping a 30 gal freshwater tank for the last 6 years. Unfortunately my cichlids had gotten to big for the tank and I transfered them to a buddies much larger tank. I now have a clean 30 gal tank and am ready to begin my first saltwater tank. I have been researching for the past month or so on these forums and understand the pitfalls of setting up this small of a tank without a sump set up. I am ready for the challenge and plan on taking it slow, and stocking it lightly.

I have a Marineland Penquin 150 cartridge filter and a sufficient heater. Here are a couple quick questions to get me started... Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

1. No that my tank is clean, do I add the salt or sand first? Does it matter? From what I have read, live sand, is not necessary. I plan on getting 20 lbs of live rock and 10 lbs dead rock next weekend, but want the water/sand up and running before hand.

2. Will my Penquin filter be sufficient to get my tank up and running? I understand that a protein skimmer is more important, and plan on getting one next weekend as well. Should I remove the carbon rocks from the filter cartridge for this SW tank?

3. Is R/O water required? or could I use tap and then a dechlorinator solution? Is there a difference between fw dechlorinator and salt water? Where can I find R/O water? I've called a couple stores but they only sell the converters. Would the water stations at a suppermarket work?

Once again, thanks for your help. There will be many more questions to follow.

-Slick

Welcome aboard. I`m going to move this to the Sw getting started forum. More people will see it there.

Welcome to AA.