Salinity???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Topping off with sw for a few days until you hit the level you want IMO.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I agree just check constantly... Do you have a way to check salinity?

Refracometer but I think I'm going to get a sl2 for my reef keeper.

Sent from my VS985 4G using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I put a powerhead in my top off and dumped some salt in.

How long can you get away with a lower salinity level (while using ato to slowly creep it up)? And what is the best salinity level for a reef tank and why?

How long can you get away with a lower salinity level (while using ato to slowly creep it up)? And what is the best salinity level for a reef tank and why?

Before I say this - I've read this while researching on many sites, I'm new to SW so it's not from experience:

Natural saltwater is 1.026. Some hobbyists like to keep their salinity at this because it is natural. I also find that hobbyists with reef tanks find that 1.024-1.025 is acceptable. Many LFS keep their salinity lower, usually between 1.020-1.023 to reduce the risk of parasites and to keep more oxygen in the water for the fish.

So it depends if you're keeping a FOWLR tank or a reef tank. The conclusion I have come up with is that between 1.024-1.026 is best for reef tanks.

+1. I agree with Alyxandria. I've kept a nano reef tank for..near 4 years now. That coupled with my own research, I'd say that all of her conclusions are correct. On fact, I keep my specific gravity pretty close to 1.026.

Just one thing to be aware of:
Salinity is a measure of salt content, but specific gravity is a measure of salt content IN RELATION to temperature, which is what we actually measure with hydrometers and refractometers. :)

Yeah my hydrometer is 0.002 off of my Refracometer.