Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-20-2007, 08:56 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
Salt at bottom of tank

I have a 55 gallon saltwater tank I am now starting. I started up my powerhead, powerfilter and my protein skimmer. I mixed in my salt after 12 hours however I realised that salt has settled at the bottomof the tank. I tried mixing it by hand but to no avail. I have taken readings using an coralife deep six hydrometer and I am getting different readings between 1.020 and 1.022. Can someone please help me.
__________________

__________________
pinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 09:52 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
What kind of power head and how many? Is the tank empty? If so run the ph on the bottom of the tank for another day to properly mix the salt. Please do a fishless cycle once you get your sg correct and before adding any stock.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 10:11 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree with Micah. I have noticed pieces of "salt" when I premix my water, I thinkk, sometimes, it is extras in the salt mix and really should be taken out or not put into your tank. Since you are mixing the SW in your tank, whatever doesn't dissolve, I would suck out. I have also noticed my hydormeter did not give me accurate readings when the water was cold. I have switched to a Portable Refractometer and love the ease with which I can test my water.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 10:11 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
I have one penguin powerhead and yes the tank is empty and I will do a fishless cycle.
__________________
pinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 10:13 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
1140? I'd get another one or Maxi-jet 1200 for good circulation.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 10:29 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
penguin 660
__________________
pinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 10:33 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Is that your only flow? 170 GPH isn't much and probably why your salt didn't mix properly. I'd aim for a total GPH flow of 800-1000 gph for a 55 gal tank.
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 10:49 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
Unfortunately i have resorted to using my had but its tedious
__________________
pinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 10:58 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinda
Unfortunately i have resorted to using my had but its tedious
I'm sorry, using your what?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 10:59 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
my hand
__________________

__________________
pinda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bottom, salt, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up Tank Via Holes Drilled in Bottom of Tank? jeffnyc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-31-2009 09:59 AM
Crack in bottom of tank carbon General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 11-16-2008 01:31 AM
Tank Bottom Karegg Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 10 06-18-2008 02:45 PM
Bottom covering plants and bottom dweller fish bmg213 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 12-22-2004 07:39 PM
Sediment on bottom of tank debster Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-28-2004 10:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.