Salt water vs freah water????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

The2hesslers

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have been having some serious PH issues w my fresh water tank. Have had the tank 2 weeks and still can't put any fish in there. I have a thread w more detail about that but here's my question. This is my first time ever w a fish tank but te more I go to the aquarium store the more I become amazed w the salt water tanks. The question is, how hard are salt water tanks to maintain and with zero experience would it be foolish to do saltwater?? Thanks!!!

I have been having some serious PH issues w my fresh water tank. Have had the tank 2 weeks and still can't put any fish in there. I have a thread w more detail about that but here's my question. This is my first time ever w a fish tank but te more I go to the aquarium store the more I become amazed w the salt water tanks. The question is, how hard are salt water tanks to maintain and with zero experience would it be foolish to do saltwater?? Thanks!!!

Well saltwater is a bit more complicated and more expensive. I'd suggest starting with freshwater and REALLY research saltwater. Because if you screw up, hundreds of dollars go down the drain.

Freshwater-
Tap with conditioner
Fish
Filter
Done

Saltwater-
Big water pumps
Live rock
Live sand
Protein skimmer
Sump( optional)
Refugium(optional)
Marine salt
RODI water unit