Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-28-2013, 01:15 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Salt water vs freah water????

I have been having some serious PH issues w my fresh water tank. Have had the tank 2 weeks and still can't put any fish in there. I have a thread w more detail about that but here's my question. This is my first time ever w a fish tank but te more I go to the aquarium store the more I become amazed w the salt water tanks. The question is, how hard are salt water tanks to maintain and with zero experience would it be foolish to do saltwater?? Thanks!!!

Old 04-28-2013, 01:45 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by The2hesslers View Post
I have been having some serious PH issues w my fresh water tank. Have had the tank 2 weeks and still can't put any fish in there. I have a thread w more detail about that but here's my question. This is my first time ever w a fish tank but te more I go to the aquarium store the more I become amazed w the salt water tanks. The question is, how hard are salt water tanks to maintain and with zero experience would it be foolish to do saltwater?? Thanks!!!
Well saltwater is a bit more complicated and more expensive. I'd suggest starting with freshwater and REALLY research saltwater. Because if you screw up, hundreds of dollars go down the drain.

Freshwater-
Tap with conditioner
Fish
Filter
Done

Saltwater-
Big water pumps
Live rock
Live sand
Protein skimmer
Sump( optional)
Refugium(optional)
Marine salt
RODI water unit

3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 07:30 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict