Saltwater Aquarium in Apt?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FarSide792

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello!

I'm excited that I stumbled across this website, seeing as how it seems to be very informative. I am an avid enthusiast of saltwater marine life and dive quite frequently so that I may enjoy it even more. I just returned (yesterday) from a 2 week long stay in Hawaii which has now caused me to pursue the saltwater aquarium venture even further.

I am a college student and live in a fairly good sized apartment, and for the most part have no clue what/where to start/do with this "project". I know from friends and reading that taking care of a saltwater aquarium can be quite the daunting task, but it is definitely one which I am willing to take on.

I'd love for some input on sizes of aquariums to get and just a general overview of what I am getting myself into!! I don't want something that is so small that you have to get right up on it to see what is inside... Money really isn't that much of a factor, but I don't want to be spending immense quantities of money on this right off the bat... I'm sure like many hobbies, there is always room for expansion and more money to be spent down the road.

Also, I was wondering about the types of fish that may be compatible. I was reading an article that was saying that having invertebrates and fish can be a bad idea, as they are susceptible to disease or parasites or something like that....?

Thanks for the help!!

Kenny B.

Hey.. Welcome to the site. I am still a newb myself, but let me share my startup experience with you. First I wasted a ton of money not researching and or listening to the LFS who was just try to sell me what every they could.