Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-27-2005, 06:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Send a message via AIM to badfish
Saltwater Newbie - Need Advice

I am a newbie to SW and will be setting up a tank within the next 1-2 months. What i want is a 45 Gallon tank FOWLR. I have been getting contradicting advice from my LFS and from other Forums. I want to start with FOWLR and maybe eventually add some corals. This is what i was told i needed.

1: Filter - LFS said i needed one, people on other forums said i dont since i will have a 4 inch sand bed, around 30lbs of liverock, and a protein skimmer (most likely a BAK-PAK 2, or Aqua C Remora).
2: Substrate - 4 inch sand bed, the stuff brought from Home Depot (think its called southdown).
3: Liverock - 30lbs from liverock.com (20 base rock and 10 keys)
4: Protein skimmer: BAK-PAK 2, or Aqua C Remora. or any other suggestions?
5: 2 Powerheads - dont know any good brand or how many gph i need
6: Heater - unknown of how many watts or any good brands
7: Lighting - some said the basic hoodlight would be fine, other say i need compact flourecent. THis is where i am really confused, the tank im looking to buy has space for two flourent lights, do i need to just change bulb, or do i need a whole new setup?
8: UV Sterilizer - Do i need this, and if so how many watts and whats a good brand.
9: Quarantine Tank - Do i need this, and what would a good setup include? i heard a 10 Gallon tank with 1 powerhead and small biowheel would be suitable.

Feel free to add any suggestions or comments. Thanks again.

- Jeff

Old 02-27-2005, 07:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

1- No mechanical filter is required but some use it for water polishing and as a place to hold carbon etc.