Saltwater noob - got a used setup, questions about the future.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bryakwheel

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
First off, I'm a bit new to fishkeeping period. I have a 29 gallon with some pictus catfish, tiger barbs and redeye tetras and a few plants. I have really been enjoying it and started researching what saltwater tanks were all about.

I came across a good deal on a 75 gallon tank including stand, a magnum filter and a lot of rock (not sure how much..maybe 50 pounds). Also included were the surviving fish..a few blue damselfish (the ones with the yellow tails) and a cinnamon clown fish.

I don't think the water had been changed in quite a while and apparently the lights have been burned out for awhile as well. The salinity was high because the person could not afford the salt for changes. Last night I cleaned out the tank and kept the fish in a ten gallon while I worked on fixing the water in the 75. So I had a few questions...

Is the rock now "base" rock? It dosn't look completely dead....will it start coming back if I get some lights this weekend? If I'm not in a rush is it possible to just get a few pounds of live rock to "jump start" the other rock?

I have read that the cinnamon clown and damsel fish can be a little aggressive...yet 75 gallons seems to be a pretty good size and the rocks make all sorts of hiding places/territories. Does anyone have suggestions about possible fish(or other creatures) I could add to the system?

I'm still a beginner and these three survivors are clearly tough fish....but ideally in a year or two after I have improved my saltwater skills and have improved the setup I am interested in moving to a reef/coral setup. Are there particular fish that would be good or should be avoided with that long term goal in mind?