Saltwater prep - do I need RO/DI?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

janky

Aquarium Advice Freak
I understand the concept of why it's best to use RO/DI, but I'm not at a place where I can afford $150 to buy a whole brand new unit and fwiw, I feel like going to the LFS to buy pre-made water is going to be just as expensive over time.

Can I use tapwater treated with prime and let it sit for a day?

Also I'm confused about when I need to add the salt mixture water vs. topping off with regular water.

If there's salt in the water already, and I do a water change, then add more salt water to it - I've increased the concentration/salinity, right?

So how do I mix proper amounts to avoid just making a complete salt solution?

Sorry if these are dumb questions, :hide: I'm brand new to SW and have been researching for a week and everything tells me to just go buy an expensive RO/DI unit :(
Nothing I've found has addressed the concentration question.

Please help?!?!

get a refractometer... this will tell you the salt level in your aquarium and your salt level in your salt water mix for your water change. if your salt level is good in your aquarium just mix your water change water at the same level and you will be fine. there is instructions on the salt mixes. BUT when you top off your tank you want to top off with ro/di water only. Do not top off with salt water because this will increase your salt level over time since salt won't evaporate.

In my opinion, a ro/di unit is a must. It will pay for itself in a very short time. They are on ebay or from purewaterclub for as low as $65. when you do a water change, you take out saltwater and replace with saltwater. When you are topping off, you replace with ro/di water. Topping of is to replace water that has evaporated, the salt doesnt evaporate.

janky said: