Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-01-2005, 10:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NH
Posts: 27
sand bed turning browish?

Since upgrading my lighting to 192w PC's, my 46g sand bed is turning brownish in spots. This must be a bad sign but of what? Is it algae growth and how do I get rid of it?
I try to do 5g water changes weekly up to 10 days do I need to do more?
__________________

__________________
gatr_head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 10:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chestermere canada eh
Posts: 429
brown on the sand is usally diatoms but shouldnt be caused by lighting if your using tap water and did a big water change that could cause a little but will just burn its self off in a bit if its slimy or hary algae you might have a phosphate issue and set it off with stronger lights, if its diatoms phosguard helps wich also reduces other algaes but dosnt really cure anything mabey look at what food your feeding or how long your lights are running.
__________________

__________________
i have crabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 11:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NH
Posts: 27
I only have a yellow tang, an orchid dottyback, an emerald crab and a red banded shrimp. I feed the tang when I get home work some nori and then around 8:30PM I break a cube of frozen mysis shrimp in 1/2 and feed the rest. Since upgrading the lights, I have been running them for about 10 hours a day but that's because I just bought a BTA and some xenia.
Do you think I'm runnig the lights too long? If I cut back on the lights, will I hurt the BTA or the xenia?
__________________
gatr_head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 11:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 930
Send a message via AIM to DragonForce
My tiger tail cuke eats that stuff like it's free.
__________________
37 gal all glass
50lb LR
3' fine sand bed 1x Orange Stripe Prawn shrimp goby, 1x sixline wrassemated pair of true percula clowns, 1x CBS shrimp, 2x peppermint shrimp, 1x pistol shrimp, 1x tiger tale cuke, ~20+ snails, ~10+ hermits, 1xserpent star.
green Bubble coral, hammer coral (8 heads!) ,various Zoos,green finger leather, green star polpys ,shrooms
175w 10k MH
28w actinic 03
2x maxi jett 1200
Prizm skimmer (modded)
Hagen powerfilter(for running carbon 24/7)
nano arctica chiller
DragonForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2005, 12:26 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 77
i had the same problem i upgraded my lights to 192 watt in my 46 bow and had a terrible algea outbreak for about a week and a half what i did was syphen out the algea, and i lost some argonite in the porocess, but you can replace it, and check for po4, cut back lights to about 6-7hrs
__________________
clownface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2005, 03:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chestermere canada eh
Posts: 429
sounds like feeding and light hours are ok, if you have a phosphate testkit check that but they dont really show anything anyway,are you using tap water? and is it hary,slimy or kind of like dust
__________________
i have crabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 06:32 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San antonio TX
Posts: 70
I am having this same problem but i am guessing it is because i used tap water...
it is a bit slimy but it looks like dust.
it is on my substrate sand and also in some live rock...
what should i do??
and is this algea harmfull in any way?
__________________
75 gal
prizm deluxe protein skimmer
emperor 400 filter
2 aquaclear 4000 powerheads
40 lbs of live rock
100 lbs of sand
maroon clownfish
blue tang
yellow tang
3-striped damsel
bicolor pseudochromis
coral beauty angel
racoon butterfly
cleaner shrimp
ektorgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 08:29 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Cut back on feedings. Only feed every other day. Been doing this for over 8 years with no algea problems. Algea must be fed.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 10:01 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Diatoms are usually caused by excessive amounts of silicate, although PO4 will cause it also. Over feeding and/or using tap water are the most common causes in established tanks. If your tank is new-less than 6 months-diatoms are common and usually go away w/ time as the tank matures. I would cut back on the mysis cubes to maybe a quarter cube daily, and soak/thaw it in RO water before feeding to remove some of the "nasty stuff" ie. PO4. HTH
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 02:03 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pasadena, TX
Posts: 140
Send a message via MSN to pelochas Send a message via Yahoo to pelochas
i have the same problem after adding a set of 260 watts PC lights
no fish, just about a dozen snails and i hermit crab. the livestock and eating though but in small spots. its not everywhere though, just on one large LR and some spots in the LS.
__________________

__________________
pelochas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand, sand bed

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sand Bed MCluett Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 17 08-14-2008 02:52 PM
Do I really need a sand bed? gilraen Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 05-17-2005 02:37 PM
Barebottom substrate or 1/2 -1" sand non-deep sand bed? luckycat Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-12-2005 05:52 PM
Deep Sand Bed?? Or just sand bed??? Utradeshow Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 11-29-2004 05:46 PM
sand bed ZivioRR Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 07-14-2004 10:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.