Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-14-2006, 08:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 103
Sand blowing around!

Whenever my powerheads get moved the slightest bit, the sand in my tank starts shifting around a lot. I get hills and valleys dipping all the way to the glass in some places. How do I prevent this? Any tips?

Right now I have 4 PHs each about 280 gph in my 58 gal tank. I want to maintain suitable flow, have good surface agitation, but these sand banks are making me mad! : ) I don't think the fishes like it so much either.

Thanks,
Jason
__________________

__________________
bromion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 09:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
how deep is the SB? how about removing some? Or point the PH so the deflect off the glass and point towards the surface.. Im not sure there is a easy answer here.. Just a trial and error.

good luck..
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 09:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Just aim the PH higher or deflect it as seaham suggested.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 09:39 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
You're at almost 20x flow rate. On the high end, but preferred by some. Try removing one, or maybe two PHs. How's the landscape? Lot's of rocks for "wind breaks"? It's gonna take some trials, but I think you're at the high end of the circulation rate. I forget which is the technical term, on water thru PHs. I think it's circulation. The flow thru the filter/skimmer/sump is the turnover rate.

I got it right yet?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 10:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 103
I have a pretty shallow sand bed. It's about 1.5" deep on average. Most of my PHs are pointed upwards and toward the center, which gives good surface agitation and no dominant current direction. If I point them more toward the walls, I always get blowing away of the sand on that wall.
__________________
bromion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 03:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 113
I had the same problem at start up, and it takes a long time to adjust the PHs correctly. I have 5 of them, tons of circulation, and it was a small nightmare to get it going. I got so sick of the sand moving around that even though it's been settled for months now I still haven't bothered to clear off the floating sand that settled on my live rock. I have a 3" sand bed and the mountains were constantly forming no matter what I tried.

What worked for me in the end was to postion two PHs in each lower corner in the back, blowing out towards the sides. Then three on the surface - one for surface agitation, the other two are on the sides of the tank pointed downwards onto my live rock. There is lots of flow but the sand is completely still. If anything I have too much current, but there is enough rock to break it up and so far the fish haven't had any problems swimming around. I do turn them off when I feed though, as my mandarin has a hard time catching food if I don't.

It'll take a while, but you'll get it figured out. I hope this helps...
__________________
Nøjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 10:09 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Can you adjust the amount of flow on the PHs, to a little less power?
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MH best way to hookup w/o blowing a circuit? xxnonamexx General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-25-2006 12:51 AM
Gourami Blowing Bubbles GouramiFanatic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-19-2005 09:13 PM
blowing sand leesanhua Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 02-03-2005 11:53 PM
Blowing Detrius c0mf0rt Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-29-2004 02:10 AM
Bubble Blowing Betta....but is he really happy? Something Fishy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 09-28-2003 06:08 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.