Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-21-2003, 08:17 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
michealprater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland , IL
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via Yahoo to michealprater
Sand for my fish only tank.

As some of you know I am setting up my 46 gallon corner tank as a FOWLR.

I bought some sand at home depot (dont have southdown in my area). It was called Gulf coast white beach sand. It is very fine and white. It does not say much about the sand on the bag. It is very nice looking sand. I dont think it is aragonite based but I have yet to do the vinegar test on it. My wife talked to my friend at the LFS and he said make sure it is not silica based, He said this is bad because it will cause me to have a brown slime problem ( I think he was talking about diatoms). Well I was pretty sure that it had been proven that there was no link between silica sand and silicates in fish tanks. It has been awhile since we discussed this but could some one shed some more light on this subject. I am real hesitant to use the sand, but it is very nice and I would like to use it. Should I be worried if it is not aragonite based? How important is calcium levels in a FO tank? After all, calcium is the main benifit of aragonite sand right?
__________________

__________________
michealprater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 11:25 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highland Illinois
Posts: 556
Send a message via Yahoo to kribbz
hey mike i got silica based sand in my reef and it has been up for about 10 months now and no problems yet. i've had some people tell me it would create diatom blooms and hair algae problems but i have yet to really see any of that.
__________________

__________________
"The brighter you are, the more you have to learn."
-Don Herold
kribbz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2003, 11:40 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
michealprater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland , IL
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via Yahoo to michealprater
Im not sure if it is even silica based. However I wanted to hear some info on it. What you told me really helps though. I will probably just use it and see what happens.
__________________
michealprater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 01:56 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
michealprater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland , IL
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via Yahoo to michealprater
Well after extensive searching of old posts I found out what I needed to know. I also read some of my old posts and seen how much of a idiot I used to be. When I first joined I recommended CC to lots of people. I found this wierd because I have never used CC. I later found out I had CC confused with aragonite at the time. If you ever want a good laugh go back and read some of your older posts.
__________________
michealprater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 08:49 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
My wife talked to my friend at the LFS and he said make sure it is not silica based, He said this is bad because it will cause me to have a brown slime problem ( I think he was talking about diatoms).
I hope what you found out was that this was a false statement. Silica sand, will no more cause diatoms, than the glass of the tank will. Silica and silicate are two different compounds, silicate requires a metal (which is probably what fuels the algae growth), silica is glass.


Quote:
Should I be worried if it is not aragonite based? How important is calcium levels in a FO tank? After all, calcium is the main benifit of aragonite sand right?
No, you shouldn't be worried. IMO, the main benefit to using aragonite based sand is for a dsb, the critters seem to like the aragonite better. There is actually very little buffering capacity to the sand at SW ph levels. The silica, has sharper edges which tends to cut down on the diversity of the fauna in a dsb (at least that is my theory as to why the critters seem more plentiful and diverse in an aragonite based sand). This is only opinion, but I think you should shoot for NSW levels of CA, ALK, MAG etc...in a FO as well as a reef. I just think that it has to (for lack of a better phrase) change the texture of the water. I know it is not nearly as important in a FO tank, and will more than likely be maintained through reg waterchanges, but if it's there I think your fish will have less stress.

Here is a suggestion, for your FO tank (and your wallet), recycle your reef water. When you do a waterchange on your reef....save the water and use it to fill your FO tank after a water change.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 03:25 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
michealprater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland , IL
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via Yahoo to michealprater
Quote:
Here is a suggestion, for your FO tank (and your wallet), recycle your reef water. When you do a waterchange on your reef....save the water and use it to fill your FO tank after a water change.
Sounds like a great idea on saving on money but what if you did the change in the reef due to high nitrates. Wouldnt that just be jacking up the nitrates in the FO tank. Not being a smart butt, I am just really curious as to the benifits of this.
__________________
michealprater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 04:00 PM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
FO you shoudn't have to worry about nitrates that much, and if you have that much nitrates in your reef tank, wouldn't you be worried about that and solve that problem first besides doing water changes? Just a question...
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 04:14 PM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Just to clarify what I meant, I cant edit the post, I tried water changes to bring down the nitrates in my tank and it didn't work. I know it helped a little bit, but not enough to start building a reef. IT was only after I removed all filter media, that my nitrates got down to .5 meg/L. It is stable so far... The limits from what I have seen and read, is .30 meg/L and in some cases higher. Although I would not promote it, I think .30 meg/L is rather high even for FO.... So, the water from the reef should be much less than that and shouldn't cause a problem...
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 04:21 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
michealprater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland , IL
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via Yahoo to michealprater
I dont see how the fish in a reef or a FO would produce nitrates any differently. They have to have fish waste and that inturn creates nitrates. I have always used simple water changes to keep my nitrates down.
__________________
michealprater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 04:55 PM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
I dont see how the fish in a reef or a FO would produce nitrates any differently.
They wouldn't...my point is, that the Nitrate limits are much higher in FO than in a reef environment. You questioned that wouldn't using the water from the Reef, would jack up the nitrates in the FO? My thing is, not really. .10 meg/L added to water .20 meg/L does not = .30 meg/L and thus why worry so much if it is going to be FO? It will be fine to use...
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fish only, sand, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New tank: pool filter sand + live sand? dsmalls Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 11-18-2008 03:19 PM
pool filter sand for my fish tank???? crispo069 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-19-2007 05:28 PM
Can i use sand from freshwater tank in salt breeding tank beano1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 06-16-2006 09:59 AM
fish for a sand bottom tank Titus Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 08-03-2005 11:28 PM
best fish for sand zach119 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 0 07-25-2005 09:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.