Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-25-2003, 01:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 747
sand question

before i put southdown sand into my tank do i need to clean or do anything else to it? also what makes the southdown sand ok?

thank ya kindly!
__________________

__________________
saltcreep1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 01:26 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
before i put southdown sand into my tank do i need to clean or do anything else to it?

IMO, no. For a DSB you want a variety of grain sizes, to include the dust and silt. Be warned, the tank will be cloudy as all get out for a week or so, but it will settle and once there is some bacteria built on the sand, and disturbace will settle rather quickly.

Quote:
also what makes the southdown sand ok?
Southdown sand is the exact same sand you would get if your were to buy Aragamax from Caribsea. They both come from the exact same supplier, from the sand sand, just put into different bags.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 01:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 747
ahhh ok i see.... also are there any other types of cheap sand you can get that will work?
__________________
saltcreep1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 01:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 747
also when i add it should i keep my powerhead running? thanks again
__________________
saltcreep1025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 04:21 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Quote:
ahhh ok i see.... also are there any other types of cheap sand you can get that will work?
You can use 100% silica sand, although most find the aragonite sand (SouthDown) to be a better substrate for the worms and pods. The silica tends to have very sharp edges which can injure the fauna as they move through it.

Quote:
also when i add it should i keep my powerhead running? thanks again
You don't want it causing alot of turbulance in the sand bed, but IMO, yes you should run a powerhead. Just don't point it at the sand.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about sand (not a normal question though) Civicman86 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 12-17-2005 02:18 AM
Another Sand Question awillemd1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 12-28-2004 10:35 AM
sand question thanew Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 12-17-2004 06:29 PM
Sand Question mrpope Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 12-11-2003 02:58 PM
Sand Question Platinum Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-08-2003 12:20 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.