Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-02-2012, 08:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TRDfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 250
sandless cycle....and new aquascape

I was hoping to add the sand and then proceed to cycle my tank but from what it looks like there might be about a 2 week delay with my sand. Is it possible for me cycle the tank out and then add the sand afterwards?? Is it much more of a PITA to add it in after water is in?? would it have a mini cycle all over again??

Here is the aquascape i decided on

__________________

__________________
TRDfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 08:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Since I know what sand you're getting, I'd say its a non issue. He washes it well, and there was no clouding at all when I filled my tank. A piece of PVC (used like a funnel) would probably make it easier to add with the tank full of water though. It'll still cycle the same without it. Many people have started going barebottom with their reef tanks, so it's not a vital part of the system.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 08:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TRDfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 250
then i shall start my ro/di system up tomorrow!!!!! 100gpd = 9.6hrs of filtering..... yikes
__________________
TRDfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 08:25 PM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Did you rinse the rock off yet? I'd definitely suggest doing that first. It gets a little dusty from rattling around in the box.
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 09:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TRDfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 250
nope...not yet. Thanks for the tip
__________________
TRDfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 12:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TRDfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 250
Thanks for the tip about rinsing off the rock. I made some rodi water and cleaned the rock off. The water was pure white after everything said and done
__________________

__________________
TRDfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquascape, cap, cycle, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.