Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-02-2012, 02:03 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
billberet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 393
say NO to skimmer overflows

well i've finally had enough.
everything is fine one minute, i come back later and half my sump water is on the floor. I had some extra float switches so i mocked one up real fast.



i cut a notch to put the wire thru the collection cup cap, at the height i wanted the skim to reach. after the float trips the skimmer is turned off.
__________________

__________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary, and those that don't.
150gal FW, 90gal FW, 40gal FW, 20gal SW
billberet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 02:44 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
chbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 161
That's an awesome idea!! Thanks for posting
__________________

__________________
chbix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 02:56 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
Haha a Coralife no doubt. I have one too and it has overflowed several times in 6 months, the most recent being last Monday. I just ran my drain line thru the wall to my garage and into a 5 gal jug. At least if it does overflow its no longer on my hardwood floor lol. I like the float setup tho I have no more outlets available and still have an ATO to hook up . Please update how well it works cuz I may have to go that route too.
__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 03:05 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
billberet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 393
I had the skimmer draining into a bucket too. My problem is when that happens my ato empties out into the tank as fast as the skimmer overflows. Then im in even more of a mess. The float should stop that vicious cycle.
__________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary, and those that don't.
150gal FW, 90gal FW, 40gal FW, 20gal SW
billberet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
What brand float is that btw?
__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 02:29 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
billberet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 393
i get all my floats from
AutoTopoff.com

so far i have had no issues with any of them.
i use the floats above the water to detect rise in water levels (like in my skimmer).
i have floats under the water in my refug to stop a water drain. (to protect pumps so they do not run dry)
__________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary, and those that don't.
150gal FW, 90gal FW, 40gal FW, 20gal SW
billberet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
Thanks. Just ordered one for my skimmer lol
__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:08 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
billberet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 393
yea, so far so good.
i did a test by pouring water into the cup and forced it to overflow. the fload did was it was supposed to do. the only aligning you have to do is make sure it does not rub and get stuck on the walls of the cup. as long as the float is floating freely it will work great !!!!!

one little mod i'm thinking of doing is to silicone a piece of string to the top of the float and thread it thru the collection cup cap. this way i can pull on the string now and again to make sure the float is moving freely, this also tests to make sure the skimmer turns off as it's supposed to do.

if you look at my image, you can see the wire (black electrical tape) is zip tied to a piece of hard air line tubing which runs thru the collection cup cap. this is the conduit i will use to run my string (fishing line).
__________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary, and those that don't.
150gal FW, 90gal FW, 40gal FW, 20gal SW
billberet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:29 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Keithhjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,673
Thanks for the info. What size skimmer is that btw.
__________________
Keithhjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:40 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
billberet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 393
it's a coralife 65.
__________________

__________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary, and those that don't.
150gal FW, 90gal FW, 40gal FW, 20gal SW
billberet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflows, skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.