Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 11-17-2010, 12:34 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
Setting up 55 gallon salt water tank?

I am extremely new to fish aquariums, and am in the process of setting up a 55 gallon salt water aquarium. So far I have purchased a 55 gallon Fujimoto aquarium with glass lid, a Rena XP3 canister filter, a solid wood aquarium stand with canopy, and some assorted odds and ends.

I am curious if I can do this with the canister filter first of all? When I bought the stuff from a local fish shop, one of the staff suggested the Rena XP3, and I told him my ambition was a reef tank with coral at some point, now it seems that I may have been misinformed.

Another question I have is can I add live rock as I can afford it? This stuff runs about $6.99 per pound to $10 per pound locally, so to just go out and buy 55 pounds of it would be tough for me.

What is a good substrate to use for a salt water tank, my local shop sells live Fiji Pink sand, which I like the look of.

Thanks for any advice.

jphendren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 03:10 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
it seems to be the general consensus that canister filters are nitrate breeders. you will probably be better off setting up a sump, i'll let others chime in on that one.

as far as live rock goes, when I set my tank up I had 10lbs from an existing tank, bought a 8lb piece of live and the rest was base rock, which will become "live"

live sand is usually a waste of money, how live does it stay sitting on a shelf in a bag??
Be sure to post pics of the build up and let the tank cycle!
hope this helps, from one newbie to another

Bill_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 06:00 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via MSN to mr_X