Setting Up a 75gal. FOWLR as a Complete Novice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brittchao

Aquarium Advice Newbie
My husband and I have decided we would like to start a FOWLR tank (that we would like to hopefully add coral to way down the line), but as complete aquarium novices, we have no idea where to begin. We talked to the owner of our LFS who recommended starting with a 75gal tank. We agreed that would be a manageable size for us to start, but what else do we need besides the aquarium itself and a stand?

Obviously we will need lights, pumps, filters, etc. But which ones? How many? What size/type of sump? Any size or brand recommendations would be amazing. I see a a lot of lists on various websites, but they all have generic descriptions; as a complete newbie, when I just see "filter" I really have no idea where to start!:confused:

Also, if I buy a RO/DI, can I use tap water to fill the tank instead of buying distilled water or the special water from the LFS?

The largest sump you can fit in the allotted spot (I'm guessing inside the stand) is what I would suggest. The largest quality protein skimmer you can fit/afford as well. Something rated for 1.5 to 2 times your total system volume.

About 100 pounds of live rock would be ideal, and some sand bed if you so choose. I like calcium based sand for it's buffering capability, and reflectivity.
Here is a sand bed calculator-
MarineDepot.com

As for pumps to push water, you will need flow inside the tank. You could start out with a pair of Hydor koralia, Aqueon, or similar power heads at around 1500gph each.

You will also need a return pump to return water to the display from sump. Danner mag drive 7, or 9.5, or quiet one 3000-4000 would be what I would use.

I hope you chose a reef ready tank with a built in overflow. This will make life a lot easier.