Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-06-2016, 04:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
Smile setting up a small 32litre tank with 2 clown fish

Hi,

I am new here and interested in getting a salt water tank with only 2 clown fish. I have been to my local fish shop. They had a start up kit including tank(filter/heater), two clown fish, sand, rock and water for 190 euro.

I have gold fish tank(54 Litre) since I was a child and the oldest goldfish I have is 14 yrs old.

I want to find out the basics of does and dont's. example do I need a clean up crew for this size tank, what do I really need in setting up a salt water tank, what type of flakes / pellets or something compeletly defferent.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
DeclanOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 07:39 AM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 17,658
For a basic fish only tank, you can run it almost exactly like almost every other fish tank. Just make sure you feed sparingly and do your weekly water changes.
Ask your lfs about what they carry to check salinity. It's important and hydrometers can read way off. As it sounds like a large store they should have refractometers and probably even sell you water for your water changes if you don't want to mix it yourself.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 08:48 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
For a basic fish only tank, you can run it almost exactly like almost every other fish tank. Just make sure you feed sparingly and do your weekly water changes.
Ask your lfs about what they carry to check salinity. It's important and hydrometers can read way off. As it sounds like a large store they should have refractometers and probably even sell you water for your water changes if you don't want to mix it yourself.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Thanks for the reply, my LFS has water, do I still need to check salt levels. Also for a 32 litre tank or an 8 Gallon tank do I need a clean up crew. Do I have to put in real coral or can I put in the fake stuff for decoration.

My LFS was saying with him giving me the sand the live rock and also the water he said I could put in the fish right away is this true.

Thanks.
__________________
DeclanOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 10:56 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeclanOH View Post
Thanks for the reply, my LFS has water, do I still need to check salt levels. Also for a 32 litre tank or an 8 Gallon tank do I need a clean up crew. Do I have to put in real coral or can I put in the fake stuff for decoration.



My LFS was saying with him giving me the sand the live rock and also the water he said I could put in the fish right away is this true.



Thanks.

Yes you need to monitor salinity, water evaporates and leaves behind salt causing salinity to rise. You need to do daily top offs with ro/di water to maintain the proper level. You'll also need a larger tank for a pair of clowns, something more in the 15-20 gallon range. No you don't need a cuc, they don't really clean they just add to the bio load, the cleaning is your job with your weekly water changes and maintenance. And no, your lfs is misleading you, you still need to cycle the tank before adding fish to it.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:20 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 17,658
You will want your tank to have rock in it, be it live, dead, macro, base...whatever. It just needs to be porous for the beneficial bacteria to grow on and in. This is what you build up when you cycle your tank.
If your LFS is selling you rock that is already cycled through their systems, it is possible that you could avoid needing to cycle your tank...but in all reality that isn't a chance I would take when it came to one of my tanks.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:49 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
You will want your tank to have rock in it, be it live, dead, macro, base...whatever. It just needs to be porous for the beneficial bacteria to grow on and in. This is what you build up when you cycle your tank.
If your LFS is selling you rock that is already cycled through their systems, it is possible that you could avoid needing to cycle your tank...but in all reality that isn't a chance I would take when it came to one of my tanks.
With daily topup for when water evaporates do I have to use ro/di water. The reason why I am asking this is because we have at ro/di filtered drinking water system. Could I use this for popups.

Also would I need a powerhead?
__________________
DeclanOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 01:13 PM   #7
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 17,658
You should always use ro/di water to ensure you know what is going into your system.
Yes, you need a powerhead. You want between 10-50x turnover of your water column. This helps provide enough co2 exchange as well as preventing uneaten food and poop from settling in dead spots. This way it won't become part of the nitrate cycle and can be removed by your system's filtration.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clown, clown fish, fish, setting up, small, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Small fish for a small tank? TheresaM Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 02-02-2015 03:10 AM
Small tank small fish? Komodo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 12-05-2014 05:39 PM
How small is too small for eel tank mates? Nuclear Queen Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 11-18-2013 03:53 PM
Small fish, small aquarium? euro_Boy_To Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 17 05-14-2006 12:50 AM
Help for setting up small starter tank ahochan Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 03-19-2006 12:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.