Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-28-2009, 01:24 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
It may be, but it's still below the "divider" baffle thing that separates the two compartments. The water level in the siphon side is the same as it was designed to be, and the tube is still submerged. I just put in a longer pipe because the original piece seemed loose in the bulkhead. (probably a reason for that.. not quite sure..)
__________________

__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 01:40 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
I suspect the flow over the divider is causing a whirl pool effect causing the "u" tube to lose it's siphon. If the stand pipe is taller this won't happen.
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 01:56 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezy33 View Post
I suspect the flow over the divider is causing a whirl pool effect causing the "u" tube to lose it's siphon. If the stand pipe is taller this won't happen.
Maybe, I don't know. Haha mine's never failed and I hope it stays that way!
__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 07:48 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cocoa FL
Posts: 54
I have a question does the transfer tube have the same drop on both ends? If they are the same length I would put a extend the stand pipe a little to raise the water level. Also nothing looks broken in yet give it a chance to get some slime on it and see what happens.
__________________
super-duty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 12:22 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
thanks for all the discussion in here, and actually the Utube is broken, so little bubbles got trapped in and that's why the overflow stopped, I need to replace another tube.
I will go get a long stand pipe.

thank you so much!!
I m happy with eshopps too partypa, just that I got a broken Utube, sigh~

to ezy,
so I should level the end of the hose higher?
to partypa,
what do u mean by prime it? so i can't just drill a hole on the Utube?

another question, once the power is off (return pump), it will suck water back to the sump, so should I drill a hole on the PVC(the last section which is in the water) ?

just found out another problem, where the water come out from the overflow hose, there r tons of marco bubbles, I already have a baffles, so no bubbles r going to my return pump and DT, but those bubbles popped and make my floor wet, is there anything I can do to prevent those bubbles?
__________________
Thanks to AMD, HN1, Zero, partypalooza, thincat, and thominil who helped me in almost every questions. Thanks everyone!!!!!
46gal Reef
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 12:34 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
Quote:
Originally Posted by super-duty View Post
I have a question does the transfer tube have the same drop on both ends? If they are the same length I would put a extend the stand pipe a little to raise the water level. Also nothing looks broken in yet give it a chance to get some slime on it and see what happens.
My siphon tube has equal length on both sides, they both stay submerged with maybe a 1/4" of water (plenty to keep a siphon IMO) You could raise the pipe and make it have like maybe 1/2" of water, but the box was designed to keep a siphon so as long as it's set up right, it will work fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by match55 View Post
thanks for all the discussion in here, and actually the Utube is broken, so little bubbles got trapped in and that's why the overflow stopped, I need to replace another tube.
I will go get a long stand pipe.

to partypa,
what do u mean by prime it? so i can't just drill a hole on the Utube?

another question, once the power is off (return pump), it will suck water back to the sump, so should I drill a hole on the PVC(the last section which is in the water) ?
Broken U tube? That seems a tad bad! xD i wouldn't recommend drilling the tube because once you do that it may not seal correctly, letting in air, and breaking the siphon. its easier to just prime it with airline and leave it.

Yes, drill a small hole just below (or just above) the water line. The hole lets in air and it breaks the siphon (in this case a good thing)

To prime the U tube,

get airline and a PH venturi or just use your mouth (Aqua Lifter is best IMO)

stick airline into U tube up to middle (the "top" of the tube) and place it in the box. make sure the line is still in the middle. fill both boxes with water (skimmer and outter box) and suck on the airline and remove as much air as you can, dont worry if theres a little bubble in there, itll get pushed out when you turn on the pump.
__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 12:51 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
Quote:
Originally Posted by super-duty View Post
I have a question does the transfer tube have the same drop on both ends? If they are the same length I would put a extend the stand pipe a little to raise the water level. Also nothing looks broken in yet give it a chance to get some slime on it and see what happens.
what do u mean by get some slime? OoO
__________________
Thanks to AMD, HN1, Zero, partypalooza, thincat, and thominil who helped me in almost every questions. Thanks everyone!!!!!
46gal Reef
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 01:02 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
Quote:
Originally Posted by match55 View Post
what do u mean by get some slime? OoO
Slime as in algae and other stuff, the water that goes through the tube is "dirty", plus it skims junk off the surface making it stick to the tube.

Basically, stuff builds up on it.
__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 01:05 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
Quote:
Originally Posted by partypalooza5 View Post
Slime as in algae and other stuff, the water that goes through the tube is "dirty", plus it skims junk off the surface making it stick to the tube.

Basically, stuff builds up on it.
is that good or bad OoO?

I use a foam board to block those little bubbles popping, but I still wanna know if there is a better way?
is the hose high enough for good flow now?

__________________
Thanks to AMD, HN1, Zero, partypalooza, thincat, and thominil who helped me in almost every questions. Thanks everyone!!!!!
46gal Reef
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 01:15 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
partypalooza5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to partypalooza5 Send a message via Yahoo to partypalooza5
Quote:
Originally Posted by match55 View Post
is that good or bad OoO?

I use a foam board to block those little bubbles popping, but I still wanna know if there is a better way?

The slime isnt a terribly bad thing, I doubt a U tube has ever plugged up entirely because of slime, but still, it's good to occasionally clean it out.

I used the prefilter sponge from the overflow to cut down on the bubbles.
__________________

__________________
75G FOWLR Build

partypalooza5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, diy, pipes, pumps, setting up, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestion for 40 gallon breeder sump MikeWho DIY Projects 7 02-11-2009 07:38 PM
Setting up a sump? fishyfriends General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-29-2005 04:26 AM
Setting up a sump wahoo_drew Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-02-2004 01:02 AM
need suggestion....(sump) 33w_fish_guy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 10-30-2004 07:58 PM
Sump suggestion 24 hours? NE! Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 04-08-2004 04:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.