Setting up my 24g nanocube... WHAT LIGHTS?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gamefreak0109

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm getting my 24g nanocube set up and I'm gonna order new lights, should
I get the 10k lights? Or should I go for
the combo lights? I AM going to have coral. And I am using the original hood as well. I'm just trying to figure out which lights to get.

I dont think your stock lights will be enough. You`ll need some supplemental lighting. Look up T5 HO lights.

well shouldnt the nanocube be ready for reef? isnt that the point of it? Im new to salt and i just want to have a little bit of everythign, i actually may not have much coral. more inverts and fish.I just wanted to know what lights to get that are available for the stock hood, i just didnt knwo if i should go with the 10k, or the combo lights

The K rating doesnt mean anything to me. I just worry about intensity and I know that T5HO lights will be all your corals in that size need. I dont know what kind of lights come with that set up.

Game freak, check out the Current 150w HQI that comes with the 24g AquaPod. its a perfect fit for what your looking to put it on and it gives you 15watts per gallon.. more then enough for most corals. as for the Kelvin color

10k This is more of a yellowish color, but promotes more growth in corals. this bulb is good for frags that have just been harvested and need to heal some.

14k This is more of a whitish blue its a good in-between bulb, most people go for this color temp. (Currently this is what i am using).

20K This bulb is much bluer then the other 2 and really brings out the color in corals. It dont however help the growth as much but will make your corals vibrant!