Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-25-2003, 04:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arizona, Tempe
Posts: 196
Setting up new tank

I'm setting up a 100gallon saltwater tank with a
aqua c protein skimmer and eheim 2017 filter.
I've decided to go with live rock and possibly a DSB.

1. Does liverock accelerate unwated algae growth?
Its odd because in my QT without liverock I never
had algae problems, but in my tank with the "bad" lr
it was rampant.

The next set of questions are regarding cycling with
the lr, as I've heard 1000 different ways of doing it.

2. I would be cycling the tank with lr, and while doing
so should I run my protein skimmer and canister filter?
I've heard that canister filters can be a nitrate trap,
so to me it seems reasonable to not use it doing
the initial cycling.

3. I've heard that while cycling with live rock to do
50% water changes per week. With a 100
gallon tank, thats a whole lot of water and time.
Would it be reasonable to do 20% changes
every week?
It seems to me that even doing one
water change during the 1st 4 weeks would
interupt the cycle.
Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
NightSpirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 11:44 AM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
1. Does liverock accelerate unwated algae growth?
Its odd because in my QT without liverock I never
had algae problems, but in my tank with the "bad" lr
it was rampant.
This is a tough question to answer. Whether you get or don't get unwanted alqae problems from LR is relevant to the condition of the rock when you receive it. Most unwanted algae problems are due to some factor in husbandry of the tank.

Quote:
2. I would be cycling the tank with lr, and while doing
so should I run my protein skimmer and canister filter?
I've heard that canister filters can be a nitrate trap,
so to me it seems reasonable to not use it doing
the initial cycling.
During the cycle, skimming is not particularly needed. I don't recommend skimming during the cycle, however, some might differ on this decision. As far as the canister filter goes, the media inside is technically not needed because of the LR. It can be a good source for water flow though..

Quote:
3. I've heard that while cycling with live rock to do
50% water changes per week. With a 100
gallon tank, thats a whole lot of water and time.
Would it be reasonable to do 20% changes
every week?
I am going to go out on a limb here and suggest that the cycle be done without live animals and use of a raw shrimp be done instead. In this case, no water change will be neccessary since nothing is going to be harmed by the rise in ammonia and nitrites. When the levels peak and return to 0, then do a 25% water change and check the levels again for a few days. Then if the levels remain at 0, start to add stock. After a couple of weeks, do another 25% water change. Then it will be just routine maintenance after that.

HTH

BTW, WELCOME TO AQUARIUM ADVICE
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 12:34 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
1. Does liverock accelerate unwated algae growth?
Its odd because in my QT without liverock I never
had algae problems, but in my tank with the "bad" lr
it was rampant.
One comment I have would be is your QT tank setup all the time? If it is do you have it lit the same period and same light intensity as your main tank? Most QT tanks are setup for the short run vs the long run. With live rock in yoru tank the water flow dynamics are much different than an nearly bare QT tank so you may be lacking flow in certin areas that is causing the algae growth. Some algae might have come in on the live rock but with proper water conditions this should not bcome a rampent problem.

Can you describe the algae so as we can figure out what type of algae your suffering with and give you suggestions on how to clean it up.

Since your second and third question deal with cycling your tank I have to wonder if your rock is uncured and this is probably one of the reasons your seeing the algae growth in the main tank. The uncured algae will introduce alot of nutrients into the water that the algae will then feed off of.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2003, 05:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Arizona, Tempe
Posts: 196
Quote:

One comment I have would be is your QT tank setup all the time? If it is do you have it lit the same period and same light intensity as your main tank? Most QT tanks are setup for the short run vs the long run. With live rock in yoru tank the water flow dynamics are much different than an nearly bare QT tank so you may be lacking flow in certin areas that is causing the algae growth. Some algae might have come in on the live rock but with proper water conditions this should not bcome a rampent problem.

Can you describe the algae so as we can figure out what type of algae your suffering with and give you suggestions on how to clean it up.

Since your second and third question deal with cycling your tank I have to wonder if your rock is uncured and this is probably one of the reasons your seeing the algae growth in the main tank. The uncured algae will introduce alot of nutrients into the water that the algae will then feed off of.
Actually my QT is running all the time, and even though it might be odd,
I keep a damsel in there at all times. Lighting power I think is 1/2 (since
its 1/2 the size) and I keep it on about the same amount of time.

I think it was diatomes, since it was brown. Actually, it is likely
because I didnt have enough flow, no powerheads on a 55, just
a emperor400. With my 100 gallon, I'm going to invest in a powerhead
to improve circulation and hopefully I wont have this problem.

Thank you everyone for your help.
__________________
NightSpirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setting up, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up Tank Via Holes Drilled in Bottom of Tank? jeffnyc General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 07-31-2009 09:59 AM
Setting up a QT tank. jasonw0w Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 07-20-2009 02:45 PM
? on setting up my tank mom2reds Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 03-04-2007 07:10 PM
Setting up QT tank fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 58 11-04-2006 01:59 PM
Setting up a breeding tank/fry raising tank. Billsgate Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 8 06-04-2005 03:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.