Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-14-2010, 01:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 366
Setting up quarantine tank

Hello again,

I was just about to set up the qt with water from main tank and am not sure about putting in the charcoal filter element of the HOB power filter? Also do you do water changes in the qt? Do you qt the cleaner crew (crabs, starfish, shrimp, etc.)? Do I just drop the filter in the sump of the main tank to get bacteria? Do you medicate just incase? I've heard with copper but will that negate corals down the road. How much copper stays with the fish or transfer via net to dt after? Is this negligible? Thanks

Steve
__________________

__________________
sdergar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 11:25 AM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
If you dont have an estabished or cycled tank then you will need to do frequent PWC`s. I personally dont medicate unless I know what you are medicating for. I know others feel different but that`s just IMO. Read this for QT directions and help.

An Ounce of Prevention is Worth a Pound of Cure: A Quarantine Tank for Everything by Steven Pro - Reefkeeping.com
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, quarantine tank, setting up, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up a Quarantine tank mrkjsn Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 03-13-2006 03:31 PM
Setting Up A Quarantine Tank and adding New Fish. FancyGuppyGuy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 01-05-2005 02:25 AM
Setting up my quarantine tank: questions leafyseadragon Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 12-30-2003 01:51 PM
Setting up A quarantine tank Dewey Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-09-2003 12:18 AM
Parasites or Fungus??? and setting up quarantine tank... Stephanie Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 6 06-07-2003 11:50 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.