Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-15-2005, 12:28 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
David....do you have a sump set up yet? I had alot cloudyness too but once I got my over flow and returns running the movement of water settled it all almost overnite...within a day or 2 it was clear
PH are good but they just move water around....the overflow and sump will create a circular affect and allow your sump to trap the extra stuff floating in the water
__________________

__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 03:47 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Potomac MD
Posts: 80
Well Pearson, you got me! Still building the sump. LFS is helping me out by ordering the baffles for me (local glass company wouldn't do it). Hoping to get it all done this weekend.

At this point I can live with the cloudiness... nothing else in there anyway. I just hope it doesn't hurt the cycling, though I can't imagine that it will.
__________________

__________________
David03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 04:53 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
lol....dont tell the local glass store what your doing....just take them the measurements and thickness and they will cut it for u
maybe cheaper then the LFS
__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 09:15 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Potomac MD
Posts: 80
Well local glass store has stuff on backorder and can't get to it for another week. The guy at the lfs is actually being really cool and getting a friend of his that does acrylic to just cut to my measurements. Won't be expensive at all.

I have a really good LFS that takes care of me.

Think I have one of the few...
__________________
David03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2005, 04:20 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 193
How come it took 5 days to fill the tank from your RO/DI filter? Are they slow when it comes to output then? Also, what can I expect to spend if I want to buy a RO/DI filter? I filled up my tanks with tap and am using bottled water from the local water store for top offs, and I am wondering if the local water store has too much filtration, I know it's more than just RO/DI, I think it's UV and carbon and 1 or 2 other filters which I will identify next visit there...
__________________
nsu7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 09:22 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Potomac MD
Posts: 80
Actually, there is another thread where RO/DI units are discussed... you should check it out. I think that mine might actually be defective (another person is having the problem too). Mine was supposed to pump out 100 GPD, but that has not been the case.

Can't remember what mine was, but I think around $160 on ebay.

So many people have had problems with algae and cyano on this site after using tap water, that I figured it was worth chewing off my fingers and being patient for my silly RO/DI unit to finally fill the tank.

Someone may want to chime in, but I'm not sure your local water store could filter "too much."

David
"Filling life one slow gallon at a time..."
__________________
David03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 11:01 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 96
I also started my tank up yesterday. I didn't wash the sand so when I added the water there was foam and the water is also cloady. I'm hoping within a few days it would be clear.

Update us when your tank clears. I think mine might take longer since I didn't rinse it.
__________________
aznbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2005, 04:41 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 193
Got it, thanks. I understand it better now.
__________________

__________________
nsu7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, start

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Causes for Cycle No-Start bgk111 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 17 06-27-2008 05:17 PM
is it ok to start my cycle? mwrmma Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 01-05-2006 02:47 PM
start to cycle ektorgt Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 08-23-2005 03:12 AM
How much LR to start cycle? superherogirl Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 06-09-2004 09:57 AM
When will the cycle start GOBY Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 12-08-2002 04:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.