Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-02-2013, 06:36 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North carolina
Posts: 2,783
Should i rinse out live sand?

I just got a used 37 gallon salt water tank. It has been kept for over five years by its previous owner and they did not do any maintenance on the sand in there tank. It has layers of grunge and algea. I was wondering if i should rinse it out and try and get rid of this stuff before putting it into the tank. ( i know this will kill the bb but theres plenty of live rock so that will be no problem.)
__________________

__________________
Fishman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
herp_mommy's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: GA, USA
Posts: 1,656
I wouldn't clean it.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
125 malawi cichlid, 110 Discus, 75 reef, 30 reef, 27 reef, 4 planted
herp_mommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
If you can buy new, if not I would rinse the crap out of it with ro water.
__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
aquandrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: waconia minnesota
Posts: 1,803
i would take it out, and replace it all. a lot of people say its a big no no to reuse substrate in a saltwater aquarium
__________________
aquandrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:48 PM   #5
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North carolina
Posts: 2,783
I dont have a ro system and i dont want to waste 30 pounds of sand so can i rinse it out with city water and drain it well? I did this with my 20g long freshwater when i changed substrates from gravel to sand and i had no problems with nitrites or ammonia.
__________________
Fishman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
aquandrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: waconia minnesota
Posts: 1,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishman007 View Post
I dont have a ro system and i dont want to waste 30 pounds of sand so can i rinse it out with city water and drain it well? I did this with my 20g long freshwater when i changed substrates from gravel to sand and i had no problems with nitrites or ammonia.
freshwater is a completely different ball park....
i would just pay the 20-30 dollars for new sand and not take the risk. rinsing it with city water will leave it with unwanted minerals, even if you dry it out all the way. you can do whatever you want, but I'm just saying what i would do.
__________________
aquandrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,706
+1 to toss and replace. Spend 20-30 bucks now or pay for it ten-fold later.
__________________
I support the right to arm bears.
blert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 07:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishlover3578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 841
I used new play sand an rinsed with city water snd ts doing well . I also have tank bought used an I rinsed and used gravel they used with it
__________________
Fishlover3578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:06 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I used old sand that came with a tank I bought. It was a nightmare. Took me at least a month to get my phosphates and nitrates down. I'd get new sand if it was me. I won't make that mistake twice
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:31 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Fishlover3578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 841
How often should you replace sand or gravel
__________________

__________________
Fishlover3578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.