Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-29-2009, 07:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: West sussex, UK
Posts: 9
Should Protine Skimmer Run while Cycling

Hi there i have been cycling for about 2 or 3 weeks now and have had protine skimmer running. ammonia is showing 0.6 and the PH is about 8.3 nitrite is 0.3 and nitrate is less then 5 on the tests. i have given the tank a small dose of extra bacteria today to help it along and the question is still in the back on my mind, should it be running or is it going to prolong the cycle. oh just in addition i have had a redish type alge about a week ago and this week now a brown datome i think not sure. any answers would be helpful, am i doing ok.
__________________

__________________
jamiewalder75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 07:41 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
I normally leave skimmers off during the cycling period so it isn't prolonged. You could try a 25% water change (gravel vacuum the top substrate layer) and see if your NH3 goes down.
__________________

Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 09:05 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
I ran my skimmer during my cycle. I cured my rock for several weeks in my garage, wherein I ran my skimmer during that period as well. Does it prolong the cycle? perhaps, I can't speak for sure.

When you say you added an extra dose of bacteria, what exactly did you add? You need to provide an ammonia source to feed the cycle.

Diatoms are normal for a new tank as they eat at the excess silicates that are in brand new tanks. The reddish stuff I assume to be cyano, which is another common phase in breaking in a new aquarium.

While you're cycling, don't run the lights. The bacteria don't need it, and the high/excess nutrients plus lots of lights can lead to crazy algae issues.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 11:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
xb_orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 19
i am in my cycling period as well.. so what is being said is that you should not turn on the lights or the skimmer in this period?
__________________
xb_orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 11:43 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to Roberz00 Send a message via Yahoo to Roberz00
Quote:
Originally Posted by xb_orange View Post
i am in my cycling period as well.. so what is being said is that you should not turn on the lights or the skimmer in this period?

lights-no skimmer-optional

I ran my skimmer during cycling also and went full readiness at 1 month. Running the skimmer is almost a personal choice type thing. I did it to "season" it to the water and "flush" it out. like i said.. that was my choice and the path i took. no fish or inverts were harmed in the add on period. (adding them to the tank)
__________________
Rob
Roberz00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 11:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
xb_orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 19
okay.. so far i have 30lbs of LR an airstone and a skimmer running. should i add anything to the tank for the cycling period... and so everyone knows im no where close i just set up the tank 3 days ago but im just trying to figure out if i am making everything run correctly.
__________________
xb_orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 01:35 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kelowna BC, Canada
Posts: 149
Some people put a shrimp in the tank to get some bacteria brewing, and to help the cycle start faster. The airstone isn't needed, unless you like the look of it. Your skimmer should make enough bubbles to oxygenate the water. Do you have test kits yet?
__________________
sqrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 01:38 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
xb_orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 19
i do have test kits.. but after looking at a bunch of articles on here i think im going to go to the LFS tomorrow and buy a new test kit i think you call it a AP kit. sounds like that will be the best for this whole situation. and do you think the airstone might help circulate the water any better cause i dont really like the look of it right now. maybe when i get some fish in a month or so. and i am also going to get a raw shrimp tomorrow cause it sounds like one of the easiest ways to go on with this.

and thank you for the help and future advise i will receive from anyone
__________________
xb_orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 01:43 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kelowna BC, Canada
Posts: 149
The air stone won't do much for circulation. If you don't have powerheads, that should be on the top of the list of things to get. Calculate 10-15 times the volume of your tank per hour. So a 10 gallon would need, 100-150 gph flow. You will for sure need those. As for the test kits, do you mean API? That is just a manufacturer name. They are fairly decent. Are you going to be running a sump/refugium?
__________________
sqrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 01:47 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
xb_orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 19
haha wow im not doing this right yet.. i guess i will go out and buy a power head tomorrow. and i was curious on which is better a sump or a refugium?
__________________

__________________
xb_orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
am i doing it right, cycling, should skimmer be running, skimmer, what are they.

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a good protine skimmer for a 30g tank weemanpow3 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 01-07-2008 05:22 PM
Help me fix my Protine Skimmer Problem weemanpow3 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-25-2007 10:06 AM
run skimmer while cycling? packfan2204 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 03-04-2005 07:45 AM
Let Algae run its course during cycling? Nate C Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 09-02-2004 01:55 PM
To run or not to run....Protein Skimmer Avi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-13-2004 05:58 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.