simply need a little better direction and advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Skuseman

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have been running a 50 gallon marine tank for almost two years. I have some live rock in it. I know i should have more. I am not running a sump or skimmer and i use the standard lighting you get when you buy a aquarium from Wally World. What I am asking is if I am not losing fish and my water quality always seem well should i go and invest in these extra devices. I'm afraid of messing things up by moving into areas that I am completly unfamiliar. I have been reading extensively about the sumps and skimmers but i'm not convinced that they are a must. My 50 gallon tank has a blenny, 2 Damsels and 1 tomato clown, a hermit crab and also crab. I just recently put in an anemone that showing signs of bleaching. and it will not stay in the brightest area of the tank it always moves to the darkest corner. I'm a littleconfused about that. can't wait to read all your responses. Thanks again.

Are you planning to go Reef? or stay with FOWLR? ok well to determine what to do first here are a few questions.

1.Are you using RO/DI water Any algae problems?
2. What is your method to mixing Saltwater before adding to tank
3. How are you measuring Specific Gravity
4.Do you have a test kit if so what are you testing for and how often and what are the results.
5. How much live rock is currently in your tank.

On a personal note I love my skimmer it removes lots of nasty stuff on a regular basis and is well worth the 200 dollars IMO

Having a sump with a refugium to grow macroalgae was a blessing for me I have not seen any algae really at all since my Chaeto in the refugium started growing and absorbing nitrates and such. well worth the 350 dollars IMO (can be done a lot cheaper than what I paid)