Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-31-2015, 07:20 PM   #51
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
It's alive!!!!

http://i1357.photobucket.com/albums/...ps6iomr9l0.jpg

http://i1357.photobucket.com/albums/...psemqotkcq.jpg

http://i1357.photobucket.com/albums/...psa8stkmkg.jpg

http://i1357.photobucket.com/albums/...pseum6wnky.jpg

http://i1357.photobucket.com/albums/...psxzjobox7.jpg

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 10:10 AM   #52
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Looks good!
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 03:59 PM   #53
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
Thanks, now I just need the skimmer, Chaeto with sump light and I plan on adding a mesh top to keep the fish inside.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 02:14 AM   #54
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
I know I'm coming into this conversation late, but I just came upon this thread and I have an idea for you.


Background: For the last year I was fighting an algae outbreak in my tank. I have a 110 gal tank with sump, a Reef Octopus SRO 2000 (for up to a 500 gal tank) and a reactor running phosguard. Nitrates and phosphates were all 0, yet I had algae. I tried everything to get rid of it, but in the end a large CUC of hermits has solved my problems. However, during this process, towards the end, someone mentioned an Algae Turf Scrubber (ATS) might be the way to go. So a few months ago I built an ATS and pulled both the skimmer and reactor out (along with their not so silent pumps). Low and behold, that was the start to my road to recovery. Even without the skimmer for a few months now, and increasing my feeding schedule (daily feeding now), my algae is almost completely gone, with the last few spots shrinking noticeably daily.


For what your pics show of your sump, you are perfectly set up for what I wish I would have done as I also have a 2 section sump. I would consider a weir type ATS setup. This would require very little to build in the sump you showed on the 25th.


You would need some 1/2" pvc pipe, fittings, an acrylic rod and #7 plastic sewing mesh.
Using the fittings and pipe, you would build a few vertical pipes along the front and back glass, held apart by a couple pipes connecting the front and back rows.
The vertical pipes would have a slit cut on the inside right thru to the top of the pipe.
Then the mesh would be cut long enough to fit into the slit in a front and corresponding back pipe. a length of acrylic rod would be cut to the same height as the pipes and zip tied to either end of the mesh. The rods would slide down into the pipes with the mesh going out the slots.
Water in the sump would then flow through the mesh screens and with a light, algae would grow there. You would easily remove the screens on a 1 a week or 2 basis and scrape it clean. Your pods would love it.
Best of all, I have only the return pump in my sump, no more noisy skimmer and reactor pumps to listen to.


I'll try to post a drawing of what I'm trying to describe.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 02:18 AM   #55
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1422944262.502364.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	114.5 KB
ID:	263147

Here's what I'm trying to describe.



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 10:53 PM   #56
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
I'll give that a try although I added a baffle for the skimmer section. Doing some research now on how to build that.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 06:38 PM   #57
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
I finally bought a skimmer and I went with the curve 5. I have had it running for 2 days with no luck. It just overflows. I have it sitting at about 8 inches of water. No matter how much I keep adjusting it I can't get it to stop over filling. Has anyone had this same problem?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:35 PM   #58
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Adamski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: London
Posts: 321
Yep, the max and min are the wrong way round! Run it on max for a while and then adjust it accordingly


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Adamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 10:09 PM   #59
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,229
Many wipe out new skimmers with vinegar to remove factory "release" agents.
many most skimmers take days if not a week or more to break in.
Is there any flow(water gph) control?
IMO you want to slow the water speed and leave the air flow as is to control the overflowing.
Being new to skimmers it is a balancing act to get flow in,air and out flow in tune.
If you can't control it then let it overflow (hopefully back into sump?) until it breaks in.
__________________
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 10:33 PM   #60
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
Yeah I've had it on max for 2 days now. I guess I'll give it a couple more days to see if it adjusts.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
skimmer, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Skirted Tetra with possible Fish Spinning Disease Possible Ick? Skokie181 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 1 04-07-2013 11:08 AM
co2 airgun "diy pressurized system" Is it possible? Cichlid Kid Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 01-08-2013 09:23 PM
Fluval Co2 Mini system, Possible to replace diffuser? Rinfish Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 11-18-2011 01:42 AM
Is Metal Halide system the only way possible to get the "glistering look"? Dr. Dai Phan Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 18 07-10-2009 12:03 PM
Is an automated control system possible? Buckeye_ME Saltwater Reef Aquaria 19 03-08-2005 11:17 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.