skimmers (does size really matter)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tmac

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i am about ready to by a protien skimmer. but my question is does size matter? i have a 55gal swfo with a wet/dry and a magum350 canister currently running . the different aquarium stores here tell me i should buy the biggest skimmer i can afford. my tank has just finished its cycle but i plan to wait atleast another week before adding new guest. please let your opions roll in. thanks tmac

I would say that size does in fact matter. I am pretty new to the hobby, but there are certain obvious issues that stood out for me when researching products. Here are a few to think about.
#1 A larger skimmer uses a larger pump. Therefore it will turn the water in your tank more often. A giant plus. In theory you could use a larger pump with a smaller skimmer, but at some point the benefit of the larger pump will diminish as the water will be forced out of the skimmer at a rate that does not allow the water to be in the chamber long enough for the bubbles to rise.
#2 More surface area. A larger skimmer has a larger volume chamber, which allows the bubbles to rise for an extended period of time. Therefore, it is more efficient. Consider that any piece of dissolved waste will be in contact with more bubbles and for a longer period of time.
Unfortunately this is an expensive hobby. I'm sure many people try to buy undersized products due to budget and the such, but you could probably save yourself some time and money in the long run by "Going Big." Besides it could be one less variable to worry about if you find yourself running into problems. Hope this helps. Good luck!
Travis