Skip fresh and start with salt water

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ILS-19R

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I know it is highly recommend doing fresh water first, but I would really like to start out in saltwater. I have no FW experience, other than a semi-large tank our family had when I was a kid. Recently I purchased a 72 gallon tank and I would really like to skip fresh water. Would love to hear advice, especially from anyone else who skipped FW.

First, I have done tons of reading and will continue to do so. I am willing to take it slowly and not rush into it. I think those two factors will be a big help. My tank is a 72 gallon bow front. Filter is a Rena XP3, but will add live rocks. No protein skimmer yet. Would like to start out simple and add coral, etc. down the road when I am comfortable.

So, am I nuts for wanting to skip fresh? Any encouragement or advice? Thanks for taking the time to respond. I have been reading the forums a lot, but this is my first post.

I had fresh when I was a kid so the experince did not help me since things change in how stuff is done...
I would say that I skipped it and went with salt water for a first tank... I took mine a step further and went nano..
You are on the right track to go slowly , and reading , there is a book called the conciences marine aquarist , get it it is a good book ...
Look to your future of what you want you say eventually you would like corals , buy lights that will support them now so you are not buying a new set in a few months....
I have had my ups and downs but they really are two diffrent beasts , the only common thing I can find is that there are fish you dont over feed and that you take your time .
Cycling is done now with out fish (any thing that decays will start your cycle)