Snow flake eel question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

screaminbuckeye

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ok I just got back from my local pet store and I just saw the most interesting snow flake eel. After some convincing my mother agreed that it would make a great birthday present for me. I wanted to do some research before I got it. The pet store guy said that it would be fine in a 10 gallon tank. Is that true?

I have never had a salt water tank so I am a newbie to marine tanks. How hearty are these guys (I'm sure I will make some newbie mistakes so I don't want to loose this guy)? Anything else I should be aware of?

wow was that man ever wrong.. and its not as easy as taking care a saltwater tank as it looks, plus it much more expensive than doing a freshwater tank. First you'll need to cycle the tank which takes at most a month but a minimum of about 2.5-3 weeks. Plus you have to make sure your levels are correct. After that you'll find out that you need a tight lid on the tank because they love to escape at any chance, plus feeding them isn't as easy as just dropping something in. You also will have a very hard time keeping inverts with them (crabs, shrimp) as they will most likekly eat them. As for tanks.. a 10 gallon would NEVER fit a snowflake eel. You'll need a much bigger tank than that. That man must be on commision or be dumber than a two by four... Of course I bet he didn't mention what you would need to take care of something like an eel, which have high bio loads on top of everything else I mentioned... sorry for sounding rough.. but sales people like that should be tarred and feathered