Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-09-2011, 06:08 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
So, I work at petco and..

I was just sitting here debating the usefulness of our current sumps. To begin with, the water is sent through carbon and prefilter pads, than back through display, so on, so forth.

Now, I came up with an idea.

What if one sump was removed, replaced with an actual tank, 3 baffles.

Initially the water moves through a deep sand bed, on through clumps of chaetomorpha (we have bad nitrate/algae issues) and then into the final baffled area, composed of live rock rubble, nitrate reactor, and a protein skimmer.

I did a design of it, it's horrible, I know, but still...


Is it a practical idea? Our water quality is bad considering our nitrate issues, we use tap water, and there isn't a lot of real filtration going on. In hindsight, I'd be managing the sump, so I could theoretically keep up with the up-keep, if you know what I mean.

I just want something to promote good filtration, water quality, healthy animals, and ultimately, good sells. If I can even convince my manager to do this i'd have to be perfect, or else I may get fired during the test run.. LOL.

Here's the sketchup results (I just started using it yesterday, so forgive how n00bish it looks..)


http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/7110/petcoidea.jpg
__________________

__________________
thatfishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 04:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
you'll never get good quality water using tap water.
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 04:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
sure you can, ive seen an episode of LA fishguys where the guy was using tap water and had a fully established reef where RBTA were reporducing like weeds and had no nitrate or phosphate issues. look it up they call it a rose bubble tip garden.


as for the sump, in marine systems all you need is biological and mechanical filtration, fish will do fine with the nitrates corals won't, so unless you have nitrates in the 40ppm range its not so bad for fish, you'll just get alot of algae issues that establish to try and obsorb them
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 04:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Think you could test this on a small scale? Also being that you are gonna be going to your boss about this, I'd make sure and have concrete evidence as to why you want to do this. Ie-parameter levels and why they are bad,damage they do, the algae issues, the looks of the tanks
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 04:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
sfbetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: old gold mountain
Posts: 10
Tap water in SF is the best, ours comes from Hetch Hetchy... my only debunk is that they add chloramine now instead of chlorine... no more simply aging the water before us.

I agree about needing to provide evidence of why this "cheap" operation/setup of yours is important for both quality of fish and showcase. I say "cheap" because you know they want something robust in longrun... something that won't break down on them or require more maintenance as what they currently do...

Also explain what each step does for "his/her" fish and water quality... basially don't just throw an expensive piece of equipment thir way.
__________________
sfbetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 04:39 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Heera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 560
Will need alot more details but great start.
very powerful pumps, overflow control Etc.

But run it at home first. Try to mimic lighting times and water quality at work. I am sure when u do it you will come up with many improvements. Rather do them at home than try that at work and get fired. Do it small and take before and after results and plan.
__________________
"goes around comes around"
Heera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 09:43 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
RBTA's split rapidly because they are stressed. that's not a good thing.
you can use a carbon source like vodka to lower nitrates, without building anything.
Vodka Dosing by 'Genetics' and 'Stony_Corals' - Reefkeeping.com
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 11:41 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gti_Leo View Post
sure you can, ive seen an episode of LA fishguys where the guy was using tap water and had a fully established reef where RBTA were reporducing like weeds and had no nitrate or phosphate issues. look it up they call it a rose bubble tip garden.


as for the sump, in marine systems all you need is biological and mechanical filtration, fish will do fine with the nitrates corals won't, so unless you have nitrates in the 40ppm range its not so bad for fish, you'll just get alot of algae issues that establish to try and obsorb them
So you use tap water do you??
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 01:00 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Heera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 560
I am guilty of using tap water too. FOWLR.
But my saltwater mix is 7-10 days old when I use it. My tests show up great.
Phosphates are zero. Bi- weekly water changes.
I did have phosphate problem when tank started but now all good. Even my red macro algae is dying now. It was growing like crazy before.
__________________

__________________
"goes around comes around"
Heera is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
petco

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now I get the Petco Coupon LOL carey Aquaria Off-Topic 8 07-07-2011 04:29 PM
Petco prices annoys me....i need help sholi Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 07-06-2011 10:25 PM
What are your thoughts on Petco selling Saltwater fish?? gwolfe Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 15 06-29-2011 02:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.