Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-21-2006, 10:30 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Viperboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 383
Send a message via AIM to Viperboy
Some Questions on LR

So my 29gal has been set up and running with 40lbs of live sand in it for about 2 weeks now. Today my 2 powerheads, protein skimmer, test kit, and light get in. Tonight I was thinking of ordering some live rock online probably from liveaquaria since it is so expensive at my LFS. Here is my main question .... i will probably be ordering some fiji premium in about a 40lbs box and when i get it in is there anything special i need to do with it (like cure it or something /// i dont really fully understand that whole process yet) or can i just put it in the tank and continue my fishless cycle with it in there and everything will be fine.

On a side note .... is there a certain place or position i should mount my powerheads at

TIA

Ray
__________________

__________________
Viperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 11:37 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Since your tank is cycling you can simply order the rock, wait for it to show up and put it in the tank. Use the die-off on the rock to help with the cylce. This is assuming you have no livestock in the tank.
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 11:39 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
or can i just put it in the tank and continue my fishless cycle
That might cause another, small cycle (due to some die-off), but I think you should be ok. What about some base rock? That would be cheaper and will turn live. 80Lbs is a lot if LR, are you planning on a fuge, to put some in. The reason I am asking is you might limit some of your livestock, like the folks who need some swimming room.

Quote:
is there a certain place or position i should mount my powerheads at
Try both sides of the tank, facing each other, near the top, for some nice surface agitation.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 11:44 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I like the idea of adding the base rock along with the new LR. As the bacteria is established during the cycle, you'll have it living on the base rock also.

Also, if the LR has really dead, foul smelling stuff, that you can pick off or scrub off (using a new, non-metal parts) scrub brush. Just the major pieces of anythiong dead that's already almost falling off. There'll be enuf die-off remaining to continue the cycle.

Watching your ammonia and nitrites during this whole process will help you see what's going on.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 11:51 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Viperboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 383
Send a message via AIM to Viperboy
Yea i thought about getting some base rock but i figured that would take longer to have it turn color and to get the bacteria fully grown or whatever .... i have done 3 or 4 fishless cycles on FW and im assuming it will be about the same for SW. Im actually using small doses of pure ammonia to get it started and ill do my first test today when i get my SW test kit in. I only plan to add about 40lbs or so of rock and i think the rule around here is about 1.5lbs per gallon so i decided 40 was enough and that will still give me enough room to add about 3 or 4 fish right? .... im looking to start with probably a pair of clowns first and some inverts for cleanup and stuff. Thanks for the powerhead advice and ill try it out ... also i had a question about my skimmer seeing as i have never used one before and dont really know how or when to set them up. Should i wait until my cycle is over and i add fish to put it on or should i go ahead and try to get it working even though i just have live sand ..... i hope to add the rock sometime towards the end of this week.
TIA

Ray
__________________
Viperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 12:47 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
rule around here is about 1.5lbs per gallon
It's not really a rule, just people's personal experience. Generally folks like to have 1.5-2 LBs per Gallon, for good filtration.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 10:08 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 732
Are you adding 40lbs to an existing 40lbs? I had a 29 gal with about 46lbs of lr and that was a lot! It would have been really tough to get another 34lbs in there. Let alone some fish! If you do wind up getting LR, just get uncured because it will be dead when you get it either way unless you get it Airfreight. As far as the protein skimmer goes, you can get it now or later it doesn't really matter right now. I think it would be best to wait until the cycle is over though. Check this site out for LR:

http://www.tampabaysaltwater.com/index.html

They have some sweet LR! However the cheapest and best way to go is base rock. It will turn purple just as fast as your LR sometimes. Plus you dont get any bad hitchhikers. HTH
__________________
ntswift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 11:24 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Viperboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 383
Send a message via AIM to Viperboy
I have 40 lbs of live sand in the tank right now ... not rock ... so no im only going to have around 40-45 lbs of live rock ..... i got my powerheads skimmer and test kit in today and hooked up the powerheads and they seem to be working good. Im gonna hold off on hooking up the skimmer till the cycle is over. I also got in my shipment a digital thermometer and when i put it on its been reading about 82 .... so i turned my heater off and im gonna see if it drops any. Now i know its not by a window or vent but it is upstairs in our duplex so i was wondering if it stayed there and i couldnt get it down would that be a huge problem. I also got my text kit in and got my first readings .... ammonia is at 0 ... nitrite is about 3 or 4 ppm .... nitrate is about 10ppm .... and ph is around 8.3 or so .... id love any advice people can give because i am just venturing out on this whole SW thing

TIA

Ray
__________________
Viperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 11:20 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Quote:
i was wondering if it stayed there and i couldnt get it down would that be a huge problem.
That would depend on what you want to add to the tank. Most people just buy a fan and have it blow across the top of the water, to cool it down.

Quote:
ammonia is at 0 ... nitrite is about 3 or 4 ppm .... nitrate is about 10ppm .... and ph is around 8.3 or so
Sounds like you are well on your way. How long have you been cycling your tank?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 08:09 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 732
Sorry, I read your first post wrong. I thought you said you already had 40 lbs of LR in it. My bad! Sounds like you are getting pretty well set up then. Do you have any kind of lighting hooked up yet or are you in the future?
__________________

__________________
ntswift is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New tank questions and converting to sw questions asraiangel Member Introductions 6 08-19-2008 01:35 PM
Questions and Questions (help the noob) ;) mike3epanda Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 13 06-13-2007 01:51 PM
Rock questions, red slime questions, brown gunk... Rauda Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 02-18-2005 06:12 PM
acrylic questions and other questions sandwich DIY Projects 2 06-21-2004 03:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.