Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-14-2004, 10:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit MI USA
Posts: 204
Sponge filter for QT; water to use in QT?

OK my tank is fully cycled, about 3 wks old, all levels are 0, so I'm ready for some fish! I've read enough on this forum about the use of a qt, so I'm of course going to go that route for any new fish that I add.

I have an old 10g fw tank and Whisper "Advanced" 10-20g hob Power Filter (Tetra) that I was going to use for my qt.

What I'm not sure about:

1. People keep talking about a "sponge filter"...what the heck is that? Can someone provide a link to an actual sponge filter product? The Whisper filter I have includes something they call "bio foam", through which water can flow and bacteria can build and develop. I suspect that might serve the same purpose as a "sponge filter" - I think I can place this bio foam stuff in my existing display tank filter, so it will collect some beneficial bacteria, before putting in my qt. Is that right? Or should I scrap this hob and just get a sponge filter?

2. Should I put water in the qt from my existing display tank, or new saltwater? A mix? I'm thinking I can put water in my tank as I do water changes from my display tank?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
luckycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 10:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: IOWA
Posts: 125
http://petsolutions.com/category.asp?c=23

There are also types that are in plastic containers that fit into corners. I hear they work pretty good.
__________________

__________________
rossmort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 11:10 PM   #3
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Sponge filter for QT; water to use in QT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luckycat
1. People keep talking about a "sponge filter"...what the heck is that? Can someone provide a link to an actual sponge filter product? The Whisper filter I have includes something they call "bio foam", through which water can flow and bacteria can build and develop. I suspect that might serve the same purpose as a "sponge filter" - I think I can place this bio foam stuff in my existing display tank filter, so it will collect some beneficial bacteria, before putting in my qt. Is that right? Or should I scrap this hob and just get a sponge filter?
The HOB will work just fine. In fact it would offer better watermovement than a sponge filter. Both will do a decent job in a QT though. Just be sure that any old sponges/media that are used in the QT with meds are never placed back in the main. Always start with fresh media and seed it in the main when needed.


Quote:
2. Should I put water in the qt from my existing display tank, or new saltwater? A mix? I'm thinking I can put water in my tank as I do water changes from my display tank?
Unless setting up the QT "on the fly" for an emergency, the water transfer is not necessary. Newly prepared aged SW would actually be better. No nutrient or other DOC that may hamper water quality. Aslo be sure you do not use the main tanks water for water changes on the QT for the same reason. If a fish has been transfered from the main to the QT for whatever reason, there is also a chance of transfering the problem with it.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 11:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Detroit MI USA
Posts: 204
Thanks for the information! I'll stick with my hob, and seed the media in my display tank. Onto setting up my first qt!
__________________
luckycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2004, 07:51 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Oh. USA
Posts: 2,158
Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
Rush Rush Rush! how did you cycle your tank if i may ask? 3 weeks seems to be about half the time it should take. I also wouldn't put more than one fish in for two weeks.
ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, sponge, sponge filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sponge filter kangster Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 06-01-2009 10:38 AM
Sponge filter two11devan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 07-19-2007 05:13 PM
Sponge filter Q majolo General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 04-15-2007 12:57 AM
Filter without the Sponge? pairustwo Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 03-04-2007 03:40 AM
sponge filter son2fu Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 02-26-2007 12:27 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.