Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-14-2012, 10:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Stalled Cycle?? Help!

Ok, quick recap, i have another thread going on in the FOWLR section but ill refresh everyone just to make it easier.

7/30/12 i started my cycle on my 16G BowFront

15lbs of Live Rock
Live Sand

I added a piece of raw shrimp that night and let it do its thing, after a few days of testing, my numbers kept climbing up a little and then kind of stayed at certain levels. (Ammo .25ppm-.50ppm, Nitrite .25ppm-.50ppm and Nitrate reaching almost 10ppm.)

After the first piece of shrimp was almost completely dissolved, i added 2 more small pieces to maintain constant ammonia.

Sunday night(8/12) i tested my parameters and they were
HR ph 8.0
Ammo 0-.25ppm
Nitrite .25ppm
Nitrates 5-10ppm

Yesterday and today my parameters were
HR pH 8.0
Ammo 0ppm
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 0ppm

I'm using the API Master Saltwater Test Kit, havent done any water changes, only topped off the water once with straight RO water... anyone have any clue as to why my numbers are at 0 now??? (Sorry about the long post)
__________________

__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 10:10 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
oh and Salinity is 1.025
__________________

__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 08:36 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
No one has any idea??
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:15 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 28
Hi Dan,
Add a lot more shrimp in a net or filter bag wait a 1/2 day then start testing for amonia you want to get it over 1 ppm if the amonia goes over 4 ppm remove the shrimp put in a ziplock bag label do not eat and freeze. when the amonia gets under 1 ppm add the shrimp again. start testing for nitrites they should be going up and up then drop almost all at once. at this point do a big water change, have a beer, go buy a fish.
__________________
angelfish4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:17 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelfish4
Hi Dan,
Add a lot more shrimp in a net or filter bag wait a 1/2 day then start testing for amonia you want to get it over 1 ppm if the amonia goes over 4 ppm remove the shrimp put in a ziplock bag label do not eat and freeze. when the amonia gets under 1 ppm add the shrimp again. start testing for nitrites they should be going up and up then drop almost all at once. at this point do a big water change, have a beer, go buy a fish.
Well that's kinda what happened now except my ammonia never got past .50ppm. But everything dropped at once even my nitrAtes.

Basically I have to start all over??
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:19 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanS180
No one has any idea??
Dan im afraid the above test results are impossible. Im guessing your test kit is off by the fact you have 0 nitrates. Nitrates should be very elevated, they do not disappear for no reason.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:21 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schism

Dan im afraid the above test results are impossible. Im guessing your test kit is off by the fact you have 0 nitrates. Nitrates should be very elevated, they do not disappear for no reason.
Trust me I know that, which is why I'm confused.. I used my a brand new API SW test kit. I have pictures of the actually results on my other thread if ya wanna check em out. One person said he thought I had nitrAtes but then I tested the following day and there was def 0 nitrates
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:39 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ibrahim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,559
Even 1ppm ammonia is too low. Aim for 3ppm-4ppm. Then when it goes to zero bring it back up. Then when it comes back down you're done. A water change will lower the nitrates and you can add 1 fish and a couple coral. Add a fish at most every 2 weeks.
__________________
Ibrahim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:49 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanS180 View Post
Well that's kinda what happened now except my ammonia never got past .50ppm. But everything dropped at once even my nitrAtes.

Basically I have to start all over??
Yes by your low level of amonia you wasted some time. you may have all the types of bacteria you need but your populations may be too small to show good results in testing. get your amoina up over 1ppm.
__________________
angelfish4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 12:12 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanS180

Trust me I know that, which is why I'm confused.. I used my a brand new API SW test kit. I have pictures of the actually results on my other thread if ya wanna check em out. One person said he thought I had nitrAtes but then I tested the following day and there was def 0 nitrates
API is notoriously inaccurate so best to have your water tested against another kit to be sure of the levels.

Dosing ammonia right now would be what i would do. Ramp your ammonia back up and let it do its thing.
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, led, stall

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.