Starting a 55 gallon aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jozefsanders

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am completely new to Salt water tanks but have lots of freshwater tanks and am looking to explore something a bit harder to do I am just wanting all the advice you can give me and what I need to buy. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Well you will probably want a sump. I'll let the experts chime in on that.

You want 1-2 pounds of live rock per gallon.

Powerheads, a skimmer, a refractometer, bucket of salt, a saltwater liquid test kit, etc.

Determine if you want it to eventually be a reef. If so, base your stocking and lighting off that. Not all fish like coral just like not all like plants in freshwater.

Same applies if you want inverts, not all fish like them and they might get eaten.

Caleb

Alright, first thing first welcome to the salty side!
All right now it's time to decide what type of salty tank do you want. Fish only, FOWLR (fish only with live rock) or a reef.
Now if your just starting out then I recommend the fowlr, as live rock is your major source of filtration. With bigger tanks (20g an up) imho a sump is a way to go as it gives you more water volume, a place to put all your a major equipment, an it more customizable to fit your tank. You can always go with hob filter if you rinse your media out regularly also, but this also cuts down options an doesn't control algae as much as it has no place to grow at besides your display tank.