Starting a new 10g saltwater tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bittenflame

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello All! I am new to this, but have just started my 10 gallon salter aquarium. It was previously a freshwater tank. It is currently cycling. I took the water in for testing and the Ph was low, and nitrates and nitrites were high. I bought a reef buffer for the tank to try to help with the Ph. I also have yet to turn on the lights... unfortunately the hood I have only has screw in incandescent bulbs. I am not really planning on coral in the future, but if I were to it would only be soft corals. I am afraid of turning on these lights because of algae growth. Do you guys have any recommendations or screw in led bulbs that may help?

Hello All! I am new to this, but have just started my 10 gallon salter aquarium. It was previously a freshwater tank. It is currently cycling. I took the water in for testing and the Ph was low, and nitrates and nitrites were high. I bought a reef buffer for the tank to try to help with the Ph. I also have yet to turn on the lights... unfortunately the hood I have only has screw in incandescent bulbs. I am not really planning on coral in the future, but if I were to it would only be soft corals. I am afraid of turning on these lights because of algae growth. Do you guys have any recommendations or screw in led bulbs that may help?

Welcome to AA!! Congrats on the tank! Now onto your post, what exactly was the pH? Usually adding anything to the tank buffer wise isn't always the best. Since it's cycling no need for the lights? What source of water are you using? Rodi? Tap? Distilled? Light is only 1 factor in algae growth, nutrient export is more important IMO. Again, welcome and let us know if you have any more questions!