Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-05-2013, 06:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Starting a new tank

So i am saving up for a new salt water tank, i have a lot of experience with my fish but need to take it to the next level. I am thinking of something simple and VERY cheap, also tank and product wise should be long - lasting, so i am thinking of getting a 30-40L but theyre very expensive! upstairs i got a 15 L rectangle and can be cold or tropical water tank. And just keeping it simple with maybe one or two starfish or a pair of common clownfish, and live rock or possibly live coral? do i need a lot of costy things? will this be easy? and starfish like maybe the little red ones but what are the cheapest and easy ones,

Many Thanks

Sam.

Old 11-05-2013, 06:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Is this your first saltwater tank? Check out the articles on here on how to set up and maintain a saltwater tank - the first thing you will find is that is is not cheap! To set up and to run. There are cheaper ways to do things of course but be prepared to outlay the dollars especially if you want corals. My 55g initially cost around $1600 to start (mainly for the live rock and lighting) not including the tank itself. It's totally worth it tho!

Old 11-05-2013, 06:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist

i thought if i want a nano tank with two clownfish and all filters an everything, it wont be that much certainly not! the tank will be 16L maybe? and comes with great lighting,
Old 11-05-2013, 06:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict