Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-22-2011, 02:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JLH-l3ioCub3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 313
Starting a QT

I'm starting a QT and need some advice..
I have a 10 gal long with a biowheel 100 and a basic light hood with a single 16" 14w fluorescent bulb. My Main tank running for 6 months now is a 29 biocube.
Just wondering what the best way to cycle this QT is going to be.
__________________

__________________
JLH-l3ioCub3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 03:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Put in a couple of pieces of LR and it won't cycle.
__________________

__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 06:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JLH-l3ioCub3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 313
It won't???
Is it the same as cycling a regular tank?
Need I add ammo?
Should I leave the rock in or will the biowheel do the job?
__________________
JLH-l3ioCub3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLH-l3ioCub3
It won't???
Is it the same as cycling a regular tank?
Need I add ammo?
Should I leave the rock in or will the biowheel do the job?
Put the bio wheel inside ur main tank for about a week. U will have good bacteria and no cycle.
__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 04:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
JLH-l3ioCub3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 313
I need some help here. Pretty unfamiliar with cycling. I put my bio-wheel in the main tank for 2 days and added some LR rubble to the QT. I needed to transfer my clowns out of the main tank so yesterday I put them in the QT and I hoped it would boost my bacteria numbers and the ammo shouldn't spike too high. If so I can either do a water change or put them back in the main tank if necessary.
What are dangerously high levels of ammo. Right now my readings are as follows:

Ph: 8.2
Ammo: .25 - .50
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 5
__________________
JLH-l3ioCub3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new club starting up in east tn. afishpond Southern States 3 01-27-2012 10:25 AM
Hello Everybody Starting a large SW tank angel50 Member Introductions 3 11-01-2011 06:49 PM
Starting it up TimmyVoo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 09-26-2011 12:29 AM
My betta is starting to lose color Atxpunx Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 14 09-01-2011 11:31 AM
Starting fishless cycle for 20 gl - Having problems with 75 gl and 55 gl LeAnne Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 27 07-28-2011 01:54 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.