Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-02-2009, 03:19 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Post Starting a QT Tank for my Reef Tank

Ok... After careful consideration I will turn my 10 gallon Tank into a QT tank or Refugium tank same thing right? I felt bad after letting everyone know I did not QT my fish so from now on I will do the right thing.

Few question?

1. How much live rock should I use?
2. How much Sand?
3. Would Micro Algae work in a QT tank?
4. Do I need a Skimmer?
5 How much lighting?

Right now for Filtration I have a Marineland HOB filter 20GPH filters 2. Would I need another form of flow?

Let me know if I would need any else or if you have any ideas....

Thanks
__________________

Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 03:21 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
A QT tank is not the same thing as a refugium

A refugium is plumbed into the main system and helps to filter the water as well as provide a place for pods to grow and multiply.

A QT tank is completely seperate from the main system.
__________________

Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 03:26 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Ah I see. So how will I start my QT tank? is it the same concept as the main tank?
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 03:31 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Most people use a biowheel type filter on the QT tank and what they do is put the biowheel in the sump of the main when the QT is not in use so you have instant filtration.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 03:35 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
???? I have a Biowheel a Marineland HOB filter I shouldn't have to cycle I am taking a couple pieces of LR right out of my established system to place it in the QT or should I just leave as is with nothing in it?
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 08:23 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Usually a QT tank has nothing in it. You may want to put some large PVC pieces for the fish to hide other then that you are looking for a bare tank with filtration and heat.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 08:26 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Cool. Not a Problem.
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 09:50 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Read this

An Ounce of Prevention is Worth a Pound of Cure: A Quarantine Tank for Everything by Steven Pro - Reefkeeping.com
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 09:53 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 101
There seems to be alot of interest in QT lately. I'm one.
Can I just get a bio-cube or nano-cube for my QT?
And if so dose anyone have suggestions of which is the better?
__________________
Got Water? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 10:03 PM   #10
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I dont think it matters as long as the fish can be properly housed in it. An example would be you dont want a powder blue tang that needs a 125 + gallon tank in a 14 gallon QT.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qt tank, reef, reef tank, starting, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting a 240 gal reef tank fishnrx Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-07-2009 06:42 PM
starting new reef tank rtclaus General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 10-01-2007 11:29 AM
I need help starting a reef tank with fish palmero Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 06-29-2005 12:08 PM
Starting reef tank tuwhada Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 08-04-2004 12:39 AM
Starting a 75 gallon reef tank litehousekeeper Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 11-09-2003 11:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.