Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-23-2013, 12:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

starting a saltwater reef tank for beginners

I am converting to saltwater reef tank because we have kept freshwater fish for some time now. Can you guys help me by posting websites that are reliable, so I can fully understand on what I need to do. I am commited to it and my tank size is going to be a 20 gallon tank. Also, if you guys can leave any tips, also keep in mind that I am a complete beginner on saltwater.

Old 07-23-2013, 01:40 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Have a look at some of the articles on here about setting up a salt water tank and ongoing maintenance. Plenty if good info to be found. When you are ready to start up you can ask loads of questions here!

Old 07-23-2013, 09:10 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

The articles on fishless cycling on this site are great.

Also, if you want a good book (or two), I highly recommend the following:

Marine Aquarium Handbook: Beginner to Breeder by Martin A. Moe | 9780982026212 | Paperback | Barnes & Noble

The Nano-Reef Handbook: The Ultimate Guide to Reef Systems under 15 Gallons by Chris R. Brightwell | 9780793807178 | Paperback | Barnes & Noble

I have a 20 gallon and love it. More importantly, my wife and kids love it, as well (so much so that my wife wants a 120 now )
Old 07-23-2013, 12:41 PM   #4

What lighting should I use and how many watts per gallon. What light will allow me to keep most corals
Old 07-23-2013, 01:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

See the thread about lighting, best bang for your buck. TLDR version: Taotronics dimmable 120 watt.
Old 07-23-2013, 02:13 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmolavi View Post