Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-26-2006, 12:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 63
Starting a Sump

I have decided that I want to start a sump to help keep a more stable enviroment for my fish and to get all of the equipment out of the main tank. I have a 10 gal tank at the moment and was thinking about doing a 10 gal sump. So what do I need to do a 10 gal sump and how do I do it?
__________________

__________________
accorddude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 01:10 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Let me guess. You drive a Honda, right??? I slept at Holiday Inn.

Not sure if I can help you, but you're probably gonna need an overflox bow or have to drill a hole in the back of the tank for the water line to the sump. The a pump returns the water from the sump back into the main - assuming the sump is situated lower than the main tank. Check our/google on aquarium overflow boxes.

I'm sure one of these smarter folks will be along to help, but you sure you don't want to just get a new 20g and use the existing 10g for the sump?
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 01:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 18
accorddude

there are plans online hopefully somebody can point you in the right direction there

I would recommend doing your own so that you get it the way you want it

the acrylic you can buy at Home Depot is easy to cut and would make great dividers if you buy an acrylic sump you can drill yourself then you would just need an overflow box
__________________
Howdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 02:08 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 63
I would get a bigger tank but the biggest tank we are allowed is 10gal. I asked and I can have two 10 gal tanks but I can not have a 20. Go figure....
__________________
accorddude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
starting, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting a FOWLR need help w/ sump johnstowner Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 10 01-28-2008 11:42 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
starting a 10g sump/fuge mumrah DIY Projects 3 06-25-2005 06:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.