starting from scratch

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jud cook

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi guys im looking to change my 6x2x2 tropical tank into a live rock and sand aquarium :) I have no room for a sump in the unit below so if anybody could help with what lighting filtration weights of sand and rock skimmers etc iwould be very greatfull.I am a complete novice so a complete break down of what to buy will be great.many thanks guys
Jud

You could run an HOB filter. If you just plan on a FOWLR setup, you probably can get away without skimming.

You can order base rock, which will be far cheaper than buying all live rock for the tank. With time, it will become live rock. If you want to seed it with some live rock from a trusted source to get some life on the rock, you can go that route.

I really like the base rock from reefrocks.net. It is a good price, and really nice looking rock. I did this when I started my 57 gallon - I added 50 lbs of base rock, and then bought 5-10 pounds of live rock from the LFS. Now, 10 months later, all of the rock looks like live rock.

Original setup (you can see the only Live Rock I added on the top right and middle left):
19738-albums9044-picture34934.jpg

Recent pic:
19738-albums9044-picture50091.jpg

You could run an HOB filter. If you just plan on a FOWLR setup, you probably can get away without skimming.

You can order base rock, which will be far cheaper than buying all live rock for the tank. With time, it will become live rock. If you want to seed it with some live rock from a trusted source to get some life on the rock, you can go that route.