Starting my first SW tank: Snowflake Eel

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

buxndux

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey everyone, I'm new to the saltwater world, yet I've really enjoyed the process of getting started! My goal is to eventually get a snowflake eel. Ive heard they're usually pretty easy to maintain once the water parameters are somewhat stable.. Any good advice from previous/present owner would be great!

My setup so far is a 55 gallon breeder with a king 225 gph power head with two canister filters with a total of 354 gph of filtration. I also have two 200 watt heaters. I also purchased a sky 731 protein skimmer for $40. I know the price sounds sketchy but I've done some research and its actually not a bad product if put to the right water line. Unfortunately, I do not have a sump, and this is an in sump protein skimmer. Could I attach it to the inside of my tank until I decide if I want to put in a sump? I would like to install a sump but am worried about overflow issues since I live on the 3rd floor of an apartment building.. Also I do not have any room under my stand so I will have to place the sump on top of a dresser. This shouldn't be an issues right? Would bulkheads be the best bet for the return?

I know i'm kind of all over the place but any helpful hints would be great!

Thanks guys,

Beau

The biggest concern I see with the set up is most store bought furniture can't support that amount of weight for sustained periods of time. Be sure it can first, then sure, it can be next to it.

Sent from my Z750C using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Sounds like a possibility. I'll probably only have a 20 gal. Sump though so it should be fine right? ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1401035567.514939.jpg Here's the dresser. And it's quite heavy I might add...

Is the dresser what the tank sits on, the sump, or both?